Skiers make the grade |

Skiers make the grade

Aspen Times Staff

The Colorado High School Activities Association recently honored 44 Aspen High School athletes with All-State Academic selections for the winter sports season.The students received honors for excellence in the classroom and accomplishments in their respective sports. Twenty-two Skiers earned first-team honors, while the remaining 22 received honorable mention.First-team honors go to students with a 3.6 or higher grade point average. Students with grade point averages between 3.30 to 3.59 earn honorable mention.Each student receives a certificate in acknowledgment of the achievement.”We know through myriad studies that those students who participate in high school activities are more likely to remain in school, miss fewer days and enjoy greater success in life,” CHSAA Commissioner Bill Reader said in a press release. “A Colorado study shows that the average participant in our state holds a 3.06 grade point average. Interscholastic activities are a critical ingredient in the education of our young people.”Aspen’s first-team all-state selections are: Barton Tofany (skiing), Noah Hoffman (skiing), Nate Marrs (skiing), Kelly Bogaert (skiing), Laura Hatanaka (skiing), Taylor Buzbee (skiing), Brandon Briscoe (skiing), Elyse Boelens (basketball), Taylor Schlepp (basketball), Kate Detweiler (basketball), Hannah Detweiler (basketball), Nena Sivess (basketball), Reghan Mahaffey (basketball), Luke Gosda (basketball), Corina Person (swimming), Ellery Kendrick (swimming), Claudia Strazzera (swimming), Elle Stark (swimming), Ryder Fyrwald (hockey), Andy Conarroe (hockey), Matt Cooper (hockey) and Jamie Gordon (dance).Honorable mention: Paul Britvar (skiing), Stephen Buzbee (skiing), Whit Fuller (skiing), Carly Magill (basketball), Brittany Fortier (basketball), Carly Rosen (basketball), Tucker Helmus (basketball), Ryan Stout (basketball), Elise Fornell (swimming, dance), Ellie Duke (swimming), Lauren Peisach (swimming), Kaitlin Roos (swimming), Liz White (swimming), Sophie Ben-Hamoo (swimming), Nicky Anastas (hockey), Collin Smith (hockey), Wylie Melberg (hockey), James True (hockey), Wesley Jacobs (dance), Amanda Greenber (dance), Kelsi Moore (dance) and Skye Weinglass (dance).

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User