Transworld SNOWboarding, Powder Magazine award annual honors in Breck |

Transworld SNOWboarding, Powder Magazine award annual honors in Breck

Summit Daily staff report

BRECKENRIDGE — Some of the most sought after ski and snowboard hardware in the world was awarded on back-to-back nights in Breckenridge Thursday and Friday as the 18th annual Powder Awards and the 19th annual TransWorld SNOWboarding Riders’ Poll Awards took place at the Breckenridge Riverwalk Center.

TransWorld SNOWboarding

Anna Gasser, the 2017 Burton U.S. Open and X Games Norway slopestyle champion, and French Canadian snowboarder Louif Paradis took home the coveted Rider of the Year awards.

Paradis also played a major role in the film that won Video of the Year, “Beacon,” a collaboration with filmmaker Hayden Rensch that documented what Paradis and Rensch view as modern-day snowboarding.

The 2017 Legend Award went to 1998 American Olympian Todd Richards, the man who won the inaugural X Games halfpipe competition and is the only male rider to medal in big air, halfpipe and slopestyle at the X Games.

Icelandic rider Halldor Helgason won the fan-favorite Readers’ Choice Award and the Video Part of the Year award for his part in the TransWorld SNOWboarding film “Arcadia.”

Robyn Van Gyn also won a Video Part of the Year award, as one of the stars of “Depth Perception.”

Rookie of the Year awards went to Mike Liddle, a star of the Arbor Snowboards movie “Cosa Nostra,” and Jill Perkins, a Too Hard crew member whose 2017 season edit made a splash when TransWorld SNOWboarding debuted it in late November.

Nils Mindnich won the Standout Performance award for his win at the 31st annual Mount Baker Legendary Banked Slalom. And the award for Online Video Series of the Year went to “Something” by the Manboys.

Men’s Readers Choice Award

Halldor Helgason

Women’s Readers Choice Award

Anna Gasser

Men’s Rookie of the Year

Mike Liddle

Women’s Rookie of the Year

Jill Perkins

Online Video Series of the Year

“Something” by The Manboys

Video of the Year


Men’s Video Part of the Year

Halldor Helgason, “Arcadia”

Women’s Video Part of the Year

Robin Van Gyn, “Depth Perception”

Men’s Rider of the Year

Louif Paradis

Women’s Rider of the Year

Anna Gasser

Legend Award

Todd Richards

Standout Performance of the Year

Nils Mindnich


Each year the Powder Awards recognize the best artistic expression of skiers, cinematographers and photographers, and this year, Olympic gold medalist Jonny Moseley was the host for the event, which crowned 13 award winners from 37 films that were represented.

One of those awards was new this year: the Moving Mountains Award. It honors someone in the ski industry who gives back.

Auden Schendler, Aspen Skiing Company’s vice president of environmental sustainability, won the inaugural award for his efforts to create climate change policy change. Schendler also chairs the board of Protect Our Winters.

And in the Powder Poll — the public’s vote for their favorite skiers — Caroline Gleich won top honors for the women while Candide Thovex won for the men.

Photo of the Year

Photographer: Ming T. Poon

Skier featured: Cody Townsend

Location: Lake Tahoe, Nevada

Powder Poll


First Place — Candide Thovex

Second Place — Cody Townsend

Third Place — Chris Benchetler


First Place — Caroline Gleich

Second Place — Angel Collinson

Third Place — Tatum Monod

Moving Mountains Award

Auden Schendler

Full Throttle

Kye Petersen

Breakthrough Performer

Keegan Kilbride

Best Line

Logan Pehota, “Numinous,” Dendrite Studios

Best Air

Tanner Hall, “Triumph,” Tanner Hall, Corey Stanton, and Tom Yaps

Best Powder

Chris Rubens, Eric Hjorleifson, and Mark Abma, “Drop Everything,” by Matchstick Productions

Best Jib

LJ Strenio, “Habit,” Level 1 Productions

Best Female Performance

Tatum Monod, “Habit,” Level 1 Productions

Best Male Performance

Sammy Carlson, “To Be,” Sammy C Productions

Best Short

“Tales of Vienna,” Seeking Nirvana

Best Post Production

“Numinous,” Dendrite Studios

Best Cinematography

“The Time Within,” DPS Cinematic

Best Documentary

“2.5 Million,” T-Bar Films

Movie of the Year

“Numinous,” Dendrite Studios

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.