Lichtenwalter named WSL player of year |

Lichtenwalter named WSL player of year

Dale Strode
The Aspen Times
Aspen High School senior Trent Lichtenwalter (23) snares a rebound during a game at Coal Ridge this season. Lichtenwalter was voted the conference player of the year in balloting by the league's coaches.
Aspen Times file |

Aspen High School senior Trent Lichtenwalter was named the best of the best in the Western Slope League this season.

Lichtenwalter, one of three Aspen players voted to the all-conference boys basketball team by the league’s coaches, was selected as the Western Slope League player of the year for 2013-14.

The 6-4 AHS senior was the top vote-getter in the balloting by coaches.

Teammate Clayton Crawford was the No. 2 player on the all-league balloting.

Aspen junior Evan Patzoldt also was selected on the all-league team after the Skiers won the WSL regular-season championship.

The Skiers (19-5) advanced to the Class 3A Regionals and lost at Brush in the regional championship game.

Lichtenwalter averaged 15.6 points per game and more than six rebounds per game for coach Steve Ketchum’s Skiers.

Subsequently, Lichtenwalter was named to the Class 3A All-State Basketball Team for this season.

Crawford also averaged more than 15 points per game for the Skiers this season. He collected 8.5 rebounds per game.

Patzoldt scored 12 points per game along with three assists and three rebounds.

Moffat County, the winner of the District Tournament and the Regional Tournament, also landed three players on the all-conference team. The Bulldogs (21-6) were led by SWL Coach of the Year Eric Hamilton.

Moffat County sophomore Kort Hathhorn led the Bulldogs in the all-league voting.

He was joined by senior teammate Taft Cleverly and Moffat County junior Tyler Davis.

Moffat County finished sixth in the Class 3A state championships at the Air Force Academy, falling 77-71 to Brush in the fifth-place game.

Sam Parker and John Parker, both of Grand Valley, were named to the all-league team. Sam Parker is a junior; John Parker is a sophomore.

Other first-team selections included seniors Andy Bowles and Alec Herrera, both of Coal Ridge; junior Ben Carpenter of Roaring Fork; senior Trent Walker of Cedaredge; Gunnison sophomore Brady Wilson; and Olathe senior Trent Jole.

Aspen High School also landed two players on the all-league honorable mention list.

Senior Levi Wright and junior Dominick Alcorta of the Skiers were on the honorable mention team.

Basalt High School senior Kris Kruger and sophomore Noah Schoenberger also was named All-WSL Honorable Mention this season.

Other players on the honorable mention list included Joe Camilletti and Matthew Hamilton of Moffat County, Tyler Scott and Tanner McGee of Grand Valley and Andrew Nicholl of Gunnison.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.