High school volleyball all-stars honored | AspenTimes.com

High school volleyball all-stars honored

Dale Strode
The Aspen Times
Aspen's Kaya Storm works the net for the Skiers in a match earlier this season. Two of Storm's teammates were named to the all-league honorable mention list.
Jon Mitchell/Glenwood Springs Post Independent |

Postseason honors for high school volleyball were announced this week.

The 2014 All-Western Slope League team and the honorable mention selections were determined in balloting by the conference coaches in the 3A league.

The Aspen Skiers had two players honored this season. Both were named to the all-league honorable mention list.

They are Katy Miller and Jessica Tyler. Miller is a junior; Tyler a senior.

The Skiers finished 5-17 this season.

Basalt also had a player named to the honorable mention list: senior Becca Maniscalchi.

She was honored in spite of a winless 0-21 year for the Basalt volleyball team.

Seniors from Coal Ridge and Grand Valley led the all-league volleyball team this season.

Coal Ridge’s Leah Kanakaraj and Grand Valley’s Kyra Chenoweth shared the player of the year award in the 3A volleyball conference.

Chenoweth, a three-year starter for the Cardinals, helped lead Grand Valley to a 14-11 overall record and a third consecutive berth in the regional round of the Class 3A state tournament.

She also proved to be one of the better outside hitters in the classification, as the 23 kills she tallied in a four-set loss at Olathe on Oct. 25 set a school record. She also finished the regular season with 181 kills — more than any other player in the league.

Kanakaraj was the record-setting defensive specialist for the league-champion Titans.

Coal Ridge coach Scott Black was voted the conference coach of the year. Coal Ridge (19-8) won the league championship and earn its second consecutive berth in the Class 3A State Volleyball Championships in Denver.


Co-Players of the Year: Kyra Chenoweth, Sr., Grand Valley, and Leah Kanakaraj, Sr., Coal Ridge.

Coach of the Year: Scott Black, Coal Ridge.


Leah Kanakaraj, Sr., Coal Ridge;

Maggie Bell, Sr., Coal Ridge;

Kaitlyn Detlefsen, Jr., Coal Ridge;

Britni Allen,, Sr., Coal Ridge;

Theresa Tafoya, Sr., Olathe;

Taylor Gibson, Sr., Olathe;

Josie Roth, Sr. Olathe;

Kyra Chenoweth, Sr. Grand Valley;

Kylyn Rigsby, Soph., Grand Valley;

Hunter Lucas, Sr., Gunnison;

Shay Percival, Soph., Gunnison;

Tiawna Smercina, Sr., Moffat County;

Mattie Jo Duzik, Soph., Moffat County;

Madilyn Kuhl, Jr., Roaring Fork.


Bailey Davis, Sr., Coal Ridge;

Dana Kotz, Soph., Coal Ridge;

Nicole Mooney, Soph., Coal Ridge;

Emily Roland, Sr., Olathe;

Katie Nelson, Sr., Olathe;

Audrey Stansbury, Jr., Olathe;

Megan Smith, Sr., Grand Valley;

Jordan Scott, Sr., Grand Valley;

Elizabeth Shaw, Fr., Gunnison;

Morgan Lawton, Jr., Moffat County;

Katy Miller, Jr., Aspen;

Jessica Tyler, Sr., Aspen;

Grace Brown, Jr., Roaring Fork;

Becca Maniscalchi, Sr., Basalt.


Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.