Girls lax: Aspen’s Clauss 2015 player of year |

Girls lax: Aspen’s Clauss 2015 player of year

Dale Strode
The Aspen Times
Aspen's goalie Hannah Clauss stops a shot against Battle Mountain earlier this season at Aspen School District Stadium. Morgan White (2) defends for Aspen. Clauss was voted the conference player of the year. White was an all-league honorable-mention selection.
Jeremy Wallace / The Aspen Times |

Aspen High School junior Hannah Clauss – the goalie and anchor of the Skiers’ defense – is the 2015 lacrosse player of the year in the Mountain League.

Clauss was honored in voting by the conferences’ coaches.

“Congratulations to our very own Mountain League player of the year,” said Aspen first-year head coach Jessica Owings.

Two teammates of Clauss also were voted to the all-conference team for 2015. They are Kendall Anderson and Brooke Pisani. Both are juniors.

Pisani plays in the midfield; Anderson plays in the attack.

Three more Aspen players from the conference runner-up Skiers were named to the all-league honorable-mention list.

Sophomore Mackenzie Miller, junior Claire Boronski and junior Morgan White were Aspen’s all-league honorable-mention selections.

The Skiers finished the season 12-3, behind only Fruita Monument in the conference.

The Aspen girls kicked off the season under a new head coach with four consecutive wins, including a 22-8 win at Battle Mountain and a 12-11 victory at Grand Junction.

The Skiers this season also collected wins over Eagle Valley, Durango, Steamboat Springs and Summit.

Aspen’s only losses came to Fruita Monument (including a 15-14 loss in double overtime) and Kent Denver.

Mark Twardowski of league-champion Fruita Monument was selected the conference coach of the year.

Four of his players were voted all-conference: Savannah Tompkins, Nicole Twardowski, Claire Stanton and Adrienne Chiapuzio. All four are seniors.

Three Grand Junction players were on the all-league list. Seniors Halle Harrison and Kassidy Roberts along with junior Kristina Sewell represented the Tigers.

Two Battle Mountain players were on the all-league squad: seniors Mabry Gentry and Anna Trombetta.

The first team also included Payton Randle and Shaelee Hawkins of Durango, Haley Carpenter and Erin Keeney of Eagle Valley, Brittney Starks of Steamboat Springs and Emily Carlson of Summit.

Carpenter and Keeney are both freshmen.

Following are the additional honorable-mention selections for 2015:

BATTLE MOUNTAIN – Sophomore Haley Frisholz, freshman Marti Schmidt.

DURANGO – Senior Megan Pope, junior Shilo Gillen.

EAGLE VALLEY – Freshman Jillian Byron, senior Sarah Cooper.

FRUITA MONUMENT – Senior Kelby Johnson, junior Reinah Norcross, junior Vanessa Nelson.

GRAND JUNCTION – Sophomore Alex Nicoletti, sophomore Kaitlyn Blackmore.

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS – Junior Becky Brown.

SUMMIT – Sophomore Kenady Nevicosi, sophomore Ella Piecoup.


See more