Football: Aspen’s Niskanen named all-state |

Football: Aspen’s Niskanen named all-state

Dale Strode
The Aspen Times

Tristan Niskanen, Aspen High’s School’s three-time all-conference football player, is an all-stater this year.

Niskanen was voted to the all-state honorable mention team by voters at, the Colorado High School Activities Association.

He won the honor in Class 2A football.

The 6-6 Niskanen played tight end on offense and defensive end/linebacker on defense.

Two players for conference-champion Moffat County were voted to the 2A all-state football team representing the Western Slope Conference.

Stelios Peroulis of Moffat County was named all-state second team as an offensive lineman and defensive lineman.

He also was the Western Slope Conference lineman of the year for 2015.

Brady Springer of Moffat County, also a lineman, also won all-state second-team honors this season.

Class 2A state champion Bayfield (located near Durango) dominated the all-state voting.

The unbeaten Wolverines featured the Class 2A player of the year in quarterback/linebacker Kelton McCoy, a senior,

And Bayfield’s Gary Heide was voted the coach of the year with his unbeaten state championship season.

Bayfield running back/safety Zane Phelps was a first-team selection this year along with receiver/corner Taed Heydinger, tackle/linebacker Kyle Killough and tight end/defensive end Noah Loutherback.

Brody McGhehey of Bayfield as voted all-state second team along with Sam Westbrook.

Other area players honored include Conrado Dolores of Roaring Fork, an all-state honorable mention selection.

Chase Keep of Battle Mountain also was on the honorable mention list.

Other Class 2A all-state first-teamers include:

Zane Alsdorf, Bennett

Cole Bryant, La Junta

Kale Bismente, Sterling

Trai Larry Cook, The Academy

Kyle Florian, Platte Valley

Matt Hoffman, Platte Valley

Parker Joens, Platte Valley

Tanner Kramer, Eaton

Rusty Lohr, Eaton

Mitchell Martin, Strasburg

Will McKissick, Kent Denver

Austin Reitzenstein, Platte Valley

Carl Schmidt, Kent Denver

Tanner Schwindt, Platte Valley

Clay Shaver, Brush

Zach Spears, The Academy

William Wallace, Strasburg

Matt Wells, Kent Denver.

The CHSAA 2A all-state second team:

Cade Becker, Bennett

AJ Debard, The Pinnacle

Marco Garcia, Alamosa

Parker Gilliland, Platte Valley

Juan Gomez,Valley

Anthony Ibarra, Platte Valley

Colton Ingram, Eaton

Arnoldo Maitos-Garcia, Brush

Michael Mitchek, Sterling

Tynan Muehlemeyer, Faith Christian

Trevor Olsen, Faith Christian

Rafael Pasillas, The Pinnacle

Jesse Rodriguez, Bennett

Isaiah Sanchez, The Academy

Justin Schatz, Kent Denver

Grant Spofford, Kent Denver

Dillon Vanhoutan, Florence

Tristan Volk, Brush

Luke Wilson, Kent Denver.