Five Americans advance to ski slope finals, led by Devin Logan and William Borm

A skier takes off from the final jump in Thursday's women's ski slopestyle qualifying at the Toyota U.S. Grand Prix in Snowmass.
Austin Colbert/The Aspen Times |


1. Johanne Killi, NOR 90.66

2. Sarah Hoefflin, SUI 90.00

3. Maggie Voisin, USA 89.66

4. Tess Ledeux, FRA 89.66

5. Kim Lamarre, CAN 88.66

6. Giulla Tanno, SUI 85.66

7. Isabel Atkin, GBR 79.33

8. Devin Logan, USA 77.33


1. Andri Ragettli, SUI 95.00

2. Fabian Boesch, SUI 93.33

3. Jesper Tjader, SWE 93.00

4. Oscar Wester, SWE 92.00

5. Ferdinand Dahl, NOR 92.00

6. William Borm, USA 92.00

7. Oystein Braaten, NOR 91.33

8. Alex Bellemare, CAN 91.33

9. Mcrae Williams, USA 91.00

10. Taisei Tamamoto, JPN 90.66

11. Quinn Wolferman, USA 90.33

12. Jonas Hunziker, SUI 89.33

13. Antoine Adelisse, FRA 87.33

14. James Woods, GBR 86.33

15. Joona Kangas, FIN 86.33

16. Teal Harle, CAN 85.33

The two frontrunners for the U.S. women’s Olympic ski slopestyle team held their own Thursday, advancing past the qualifiers and into Saturday’s U.S. Grand Prix finals.

Devin Logan, the reigning Olympic silver medalist, was fourth in her heat with a score of 77.33 to make the eight-skier final. Maggie Voisin, another 2014 Olympian — she didn’t compete in Sochi because of injury — was third in the second heat with a score of 89.66.

Not making finals for the U.S. were Darian Stevens, who is third in line for an Olympic team spot, and Taylor Lundquist, who is fourth in line.

Joining Logan in the finals out of Heat 1 are France’s Tess Ledeux (89.66), Switzerland’s Giulia Tanno (85.66) and Great Britain’s Isabel Atkin (79.33). Joining Voisin in the finals from Heat 2 are Norway’s Johanne Killi (90.66), Switzerland’s Sarah Hoefflin (90) and Canada’s Kim Lamarre (88.66).

Canada’s Dara Howell, the reigning Olympic gold medalist, did not complete either of her runs to miss finals.

Three Americans make men’s ski slopestyle finals

Led by William Borm, the U.S. will send three skiers into Saturday’s slopestyle finals. Those three, which includes McRae Williams and Quinn Wolfermann, are somewhat of a surprise considering Williams, at No. 7, was the highest-ranked U.S. skier in terms of making the Olympic team after the lone qualifying event.

Frontrunners Nick Goepper and Alex Hall both landed solid runs, but couldn’t make it out of competitive heats. American Gus Kenworthy, a 2014 Olympian, finished in the middle of the pack with a top run of 67.

The remainder of the men’s ski slopestyle finals will include: Norway’s Oystein Braaten, Switzerland’s Jonas Hunziker, Finland’s Joona Kangas, Canada’s Teal Harle, Sweden’s Jesper Tjader, Norway’s Ferdinand Dahl, Japans’s Taisei Yamamoto, France’s Antoine Adelisse, Great Britain’s James Woods, Switzerland’s Andri Ragettli, Switzerland’s Fabian Boesch, Sweden’s Oscar Wester, and Canada’s Alex Bellemare.

Saturday’s freeski slopestyle finals are scheduled for 9:30 a.m. for both men and women.