BHS crowds All-League team roster |

BHS crowds All-League team roster

Tim Mutrie

For a second consecutive year, Basalt senior midfielder Cy Eaton was voted the Class 3A Western Slope League Player of the Year. And for the third time in four years, Basalt coach Erik Streff was named Coach of the Year, the league announced this week.Led by Eaton – with 19 goals and 19 assists on the season – and junior striker Felipe Sanchez (20 goals, 16 assists), nine members of the four-time defending league champion Basalt squad made the All-League team.No. 2 seed Basalt lost to Salida in the state semifinals, 1-0, last Saturday night in Arvada. No. 3 Salida then dealt defending state champion and No. 1 seed Faith Christian its first and only loss of the season, 1-0, in the finals Tuesday night.Basalt finished its season at 15-2-1 overall with its second state final four appearance in four years, and fourth straight quarterfinal appearance.Repeat All-Leaguers Eaton and Sanchez were joined on the First Team by teammates Brett Guglielmo, the senior sweeper, Ryan Zubizaretta, the sophomore forward, and Jamie Wirkler, the junior goalie.Junior midfielder Trevor Brown, junior winger Ben Pollock and junior wingback J.P. Fitzpatrick received honorable mention accolades.”The kids worked hard and I think they deserved the recognition, especially the two seniors [Eaton and Guglielmo],” said Basalt’s Streff, who has led the Longhorns to a 36-1-3 record in league and 52-13-3 record overall in his four seasons as head coach.”I just wish Jesse [Schoeller] got on the team,” Streff added. “But with the [red] cards he got, he wasn’t eligible for it. It’s a bummer considering how hard he worked this year, his senior season.”Basalt will lose four seniors to graduation by next fall, including three starters.”These younger kids have learned a lesson,” said Streff. “Being where we were this year did them well. I think they’re going to step up next year.”As for Salida winning it all after dispatching Basalt on a late goal, Streff had this to say: “I’m glad to see them win it, but it’s a little frustrating still, knowing that we outshot them in the semifinal game. But I give [Salida coaches] Scott and Ben all the credit. They did a great job coaching, and you can tell by the end result.”Aspen sophomore Stephen Buzbee was the only Skier named to the First Team, while three Roaring Fork players landed on the squad – Miguel Montdragon, Hugo Montdragon and Emmanual Mireles. Jack Tolan and Nick Forbes of the Colorado Rocky Mountain School (CRMS) rounded out the valley players on the First Team.Other valley honorable mention players included Aspen’s Fred Bernard, Nicky Anastas and Ryder Fyrwald, Roaring Fork’s Mark Stover, Noe Duran and Luis Flores, and CRMS’ Jae Won Lee and Connor Bottomly.Tim Mutrie’s e-mail address is

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User