Basketball: Basalt players on all-league team |

Basketball: Basalt players on all-league team

Basalt sophomore Mike Glen goes up for a basket against Roaring Fork during a game earlier this season. Glen was voted to the all-conference team this year.
Jim Ryan / Special to The Aspen Times |

The Basalt High School basketball teams cashed in on postseason honors this week.

The Longhorns had four different players honored in voting for the All-Western Slope League teams.

Two Basalt players — Michael Glen and Carsyn Knotts — were selected to all-conference teams in voting by the conference coaches.

Two other Basalt players — Kaity Johnson and Pedro Rivera — were voted all-league honorable mention for the 2014-15 prep basketball season.

Glen, a sophomore, led the Basalt boys by scoring 16 points per game. He also averaged eight rebounds per game for coach Danny Martinez and the Longhorns (5-15).

Teammate Rivera, also a sophomore, was an honorable mention selection for the Longhorns.

Sam Parker, a senior from Grand Valley, led the voting on the boys side. He was named the conference player of the year after averaging more than 22 points per game for the Cardinals.

Joe Camiletti of Moffat County, a senior, was second in the player of the year voting.

Roaring Fork senior Ben Carpenter was No. 3 on the all-league list.

Matt Hamilton, a Moffat County senior, and John Parker, a Grand Valley junior, rounded out the top five selections.

Roaring Fork also landed sophomore Aldo Pinela and senior Raul Leyva on the all-league team.

Eric Hamilton of Moffat County was voted the conference coach of the year. The Bulldogs finished 19-5 this season with a trip the regional finals.

Knotts, a sophomore who led the Basalt girls with an 11.0 scoring average, was named to the all-league girls team by the Western Slope League coaches.

Her teammate, Johnson, led the honorable mention picks for this season.

“As a coach, the most impressive thing about the all-league selection process is that all the other coaches in the league vote on the players who are nominated,” said Basalt girls coach Josh Mink. “To hear coaches talk about Kaity and Carsyn as athletes and leaders was inspiring.”

Mink offered a thank-you to Knotts and Johnson “for all their hard work and dedication. I look forward to their leadership next season.”

The girls all-conference team was led by co-players of the year Leah Camiletti of Moffat County and Kyra Chenoweth of Grand Valley.

Olathe’s Amanda Kinternecht and Theresa Tafoy were next in conference voting. Morgan Lawton of Moffat County rounded out the top five all-conference players.

Jake Higuera of Grand Valley was voted the conference coach of the year.

No Aspen High School players — girls or boys — were selected to the All-Western Slope League teams and honorable mention squads.


All-Conference Team

1. Sam Parker Grand Valley Sr G

2. Joe Camilletti Moffat County Sr G

3. Ben Carpenter Roaring Fork Sr G

4. Matt Hamilton Moffat County Sr G

5. John Parker Grand Valley Jr G

6. Hunter Gerber Coal Ridge So G

7. Tyler Davis Moffat County Sr G

8. Aldo Pinela Roaring Fork So G

9. Mike Glen Basalt So F

10. Raul Leyva Roaring Fork Sr G

11. Trey Percival Gunnison Sr C

12. Tanner McGee Grand Valley Jr F

13. Greyson Keener Coal Ridge Jr F

14. Dylan Kincade Moffat County Jr F

15. Gunner Rigsby Grand Valley So G

Honorable Mentions

Denton Taylor Moffat County Sr F

Cherring Sherpa Roaring Fork Sr G

Ruben Ruiz Coal Ridge Sr G

Jake Solinger Coal Ridge Jr G

Pedro Rivera Basalt So G

Mitchell Carlson Olathe Sr G

Daniel Vernon Olathe So F

Jack Starkebaum Gunnison Sr F

Brevin Book Gunnison Jr G

Coach of the year

Eric Hamilton Moffat County


All-Conference Team

1. Leah Cameletti Moffat County

2. Kyra Chenoweth Grand Valley

3. Amanda Kinternecht Olathe

4. Theresa Tafoya Olathe

5. Morgan Lawton Moffat County

6. Mariela Martinez Coal Ridge

7. Payton Grett Olathe

8. Jordan Scott Grand Valley

9. Kayla Pinnt Moffat County

10. Emily Fisher Roaring Fork

11. Taylor Gibson Olathe

12. Kaitlyn Detlefsen Coal Ridge

13. Josie King Moffat County

14. Kylyn Rigsby Grand Valley

15. Carsyn Knotts Basalt

Honorable Mention

1. Kaity Johnson Basalt

2. Jenny Call Coal Ridge

3. Kyrie Foreman Coal Ridge

4. Allie Dovey Grand Valley

5. Alex Lovato Gunnison

6. Hunter Lucas Gunnison

7. Shay Percival Gunnison

8. Taylor Brown Olathe

9. Miranda Pacheco Olathe

10. Katia Voloshin Moffat County

11. Mattie Joe Duzik Moffat County

12. Katelyn Peroulis Moffat County

13. Ashley Hall Roaring Fork

14. Cindy Salinas Roaring Fork

15. Lindsey Hansen Roaring Fork

Coach of the year

Jake Higuera Grand Valley

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User