Basalt’s Card named soccer player of year

Dale Strode
The Aspen Times
Callie Card of Basalt (in white) is the Western Slope League player of the year for 2016, in voting by the conference coaches. She's a junior.
Kata Williams / Special to The Aspen Times |

Basalt High School junior Callahan “Callie” Card was named the conference soccer player of the year in the Western Slope League.

In voting by the league’s coaches, Card was voted to the all-league first team and was recognized as the top player.

Card scored 20 goals and had six assists in 14 games for the Longhorns., who finished the season 9-6-0 overall.

Basalt teammate Cintia Miramontes, a sophomore, also was voted to the all-conference team.

Two other Basalt players, senior Kaity Johnson and sophomore Kate Schrock, were honorable mention all-league honors.

Aspen High School also was well represented on the all-star soccer team.

Aspen seniors Logan McNamee and Linzhi Douglas and junior Pascale Augsberger were voted to the all-conference team by the league’s coaches.

Margo McHugh and Arley Gordon of the Skiers were listed as honorable mentions.

Bob Bandoni of Vail Mountain School was voted the coach of the year for 2016. Vail Mountain School played for the Class 2A state title against Dawson School on Tuesday night in Denver.

Overall league champion Coal Ridge had five players named to the all-league team: Jenny Call, Dana Kotz, Sam Dunn, Santana Martinez and Nicole Mooney.

Four players from Vail Mountain were on the first team: Emma Hall, Tess Johnson, Anwyn Urquhart, and Sydney Sappenfield.

Western Slope League

First Team

Jenny Call ­— Coal Ridge

Dana Kotz — Coal Ridge

Sam Dunn — Coal Ridge

Santana Martinez — Coal Ridge

Nicole Mooney — Coal Ridge

Emma Hall — Vail Mountain

Tess Johnson — Vail Mountain

Anwyn Urquhart — Vail Mountain

Sydney Sappenfield — Vail Mountain

Logan McNamee — Aspen

Linzhi Douglas — Aspen

Pascale Augsberger — Aspen

Callahan Card — Basalt

Cintia Miramontes — Basalt

Logan Waterman — Grand Valley

Jessie Raitt — Vail Christian

Valerie Lotrecht — Roaring Fork

Jessica Bracamontes — Rifle

Courney Bell — Rangely

Honorable Mention

Courtnay Young — Coal Ridge

Kaitlyn Harlow — Coal Ridge

Shelby Noether — Coal Ridge

Katie Alonzo — Vail Mountain

Annie Blakslee — Vail Mountain

Margo McHugh — Aspen

Arley Gordon — Aspen

Kaity Johnson — Basalt

Kate Schrock — Basalt

Elizabeth Pena — Grand Valley

Daniel Call — Grand Valley

Remy Beveridge — Vail Christian

Abby Bossow — Vail Christian

Fiona Laired — Roaring Fork

Adamarys Nagaya — Rifle

Taylor Heil — Rangely