AVSC athletes earn all-star status | AspenTimes.com

AVSC athletes earn all-star status

ASPEN ” Seven Aspen Valley Ski and Snowboard Club ath­letes have been chosen to join the Colorado Ski Country All-Star team. Thirteen AVSC athletes also were named to the Rocky Mountain Division Team for their results last winter.

Colorado Ski Country USA announced that two AVSC ski racers and five freestyle skiers were selected for excellence in their chosen disciplines. Alpine skiers Wiley Maple and Sam Coffey were selected after finishing the 2007 season ranked in the top eight in their national age class in at least one alpine discipline.

Also named to the all-star team were freestyle skiers Charlie Lasser, Kelly Selby, Travis VanDomelen, Jack Sullan and Sam Ferguson. The freestyler skiers named were in the top 10 percent of the USSA national rankings for each freestyle discipline.

All- star team athletes must fulfill a list of require­ments to qualify, including:

– Distinguish themselves in competition as a mem­ber of the RMD.

– Actively participate in a physical assessment and attend several RMD team workshops.

Only 39 alpine athletes and 20 freestyle athletes were selected. All-star team members receive CSCUSA’s Gold Cards, which are valid for lift service at any Colorado ski area.

“This is a huge benefit for our athletes to get early season, on-snow training,” said club freestyle program director Eric “Doughboy” Knight. “Our division is one of the toughest in the country, so for our athletes to comprise one quarter of the total field chosen is quite an accomplishment.”

The official naming ceremony for the team is Oct. 21.

Thirteen AVSC alpine skiers were named to the RMD team, which takes the top 16 skiers from each age class in the RMD. Micah Evonitz and Joanna Coffey were selected among J2 skiers, while Luke Hemming, George Rodney, Bobby Moyer, Katie Ryan and Chan­dler Stapleton were named to the J3 contingent. AVSC had four J4 boys skiers ” Devon Cardamone, Colby Lane, Matthew Gregory and Roy Benge ” named to the team and girls Julia Mueller- Ristine and Ilona Schwarz.

“The results show that we’ve got some terrific ath­letes at all levels of our alpine programs,” alpine head age class coach Alice Milu said. “Congratulations to everyone named, and here’s to another great season going forward.”

AVSC nordic skiers Noah Hoffman and Scott Lacy also were named to the Rocky Mountain Nordic Select Team based on their results last season. Hoffman gradu­ated from Aspen High School last spring. Lacy, a J1 skier in his junior year of high school, still has two more seasons of competition for the club.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User