Aspen’s Brice named all-state |

Aspen’s Brice named all-state

Dale Strode
The Aspen Times
Joel Brice of the Aspen Skiers (10) will play NCAA Division II soccer next season at William Jewel College in Liberty, Missouri.
Aubree Dallas/The Aspen Times |

Add all-state to the list of honors for Aspen High School senior Joel Brice.

The leading scorer of the AHS boys soccer team was named to the Class 3A All-State Team recently. The team was selected by coaches in statewide balloting.

Brice was the Skiers’ leading scorer for the second year in a row with 20 goals this season. The AHS boys, coached by Dave Francis, advanced to the second round of the state playoffs this season.

He was among several Western Slope players selected for statewide honors.

Max Mahlman of 3A state champion Kent Denver was voted the player of the year; Arty Smith, also of Kent Denver, was voted the coach of the year.

The all-state first team this year included Enrique Bucio of Coal Ridge and Clayton Kirwood of Vail Mountain School. Kirwood was voted the player of the year in the 3A Western Slope League.

Lalo Clemente, a senior from Roaring Fork, was voted to the all-state second team this year, joining Brice.

A host of regional players were voted all-state honorable mention for 2014: Ben Carpenter, senior, Roaring Fork; Erik Carillo, senior, Roaring Fork; Ariel Palomera, senior, Roaring Fork; Dylan Cunningham, Vail Mountain; Chaz Apostolik, senior, Coal Ridge; Miguel Navarro, junior, Roaring Fork; Abe Hernandez, senior, Roaring Fork; and Trevor Sheldon, Vail Mountain.


The following is the Class 3A all-state boys soccer team as named by the Colorado High School Soccer Coaches Association.

Player of the Year: Max Mahlman, Kent Denver.

Coach of the Year: Arty Smith, Kent Denver.

First Team

Max Mehlman, Soph., Kent Denver; Ben Maffei, Sr., Colorado Adademy; Mannuel Meraz, Sr., Kent Denver; Tyler Kelly, Sr., Colorado Academy; Will Gilchrist, Sr., Salida; Austin Tavison, Sr., Roosevelt; Jack McCool, Sr., Denver Christian; Enrique Bucio, Sr., Coal Ridge; Clayton Kirkwood, Sr., Vail Mountain; Josh Elkington, Sr., Manitou Springs; Noah Henry, Sr., Colorado Adacemy.

Second Team

Lalo Clemente, Sr., Roaring Fork; Davis Oudet, Jr., Kent Denver; Greer Solarte, Sr., Kent Denver; Gabe Sherwood, soph., Colorado Springs Christian School; Nick Fuselier, Jr., Colorado Academy; Levi Viss, Sr., Denver Christian; Dustin Linza, Sr., Salida; Anthony Sas, Sr., Denver Christian; Joel Brice, Sr., Aspen; Alex Clinscales, Sr., Colorado Academy; Luke Bote, Sr., Faith Christian.

Honorable Mention

Tanner Fulkerson, Sr., Alexander Dawson; Jose Gutierrez, Sr., Alexander Dawson; Nick Thayer, Sr., Salida; Ross Norwood, Soph., Colorado Springs Christian School; Tyler Williams, Sr., Vanguard School; Rob Knab, Liberty Common; Aric Aman, Denver Christian; Caden Bush, Heritage Christian; Jon Van Vleet, Heritage Christian; Cole Whitaker, Sr., Kent Denver; Desmond Lau, Soph., Salida; Josh Sharbobo, Roosevelt; Nathan Oquinn, Faith Christian; Nathan dee, Peak to Peak; Devon Weller, Jefferson Academy; Daniel Griffith, Peak to Peak; Stas Liergaard, Lutheran; Ben Carpenter, Sr., Roaring Fork; Erik Carillo, Sr., Roaring Fork; Ariel Palomera, Sr., Roaring Fork; Dylan Cunningham, Vail Mountain; Chaz Apostolik, Sr., Coal Ridge; Miguel Navarro, Jr., Abe Hernandez, Sr., Roaring Fork; Trevor Sheldon, Vail Mountain.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more