Aspen cyclist Abby Mickey wins Iron Horse road race

Dale Strode
Staff report
Aspen's Abby Mickey crosses the finish line to win the 2013 Iron Horse Bicycle Classic road race from Durango to Silverton. Mickey rode onto the podium as a pro in the Tour of the Gila last week in New Mexico. She finished third for her Twenty16 team.
Photo courtesy of The Durango Herald |

An Aspen cyclist has added her name to one of Colorado’s most exclusive sororities.

Abby Mickey, of Aspen, is a winner of the historic Iron Horse Bicycle Classic road race in southwestern Colorado.

Mickey, coming off a strong season with her University of Colorado cycling team, won the Iron Horse Classic race from Durango to Silverton on Saturday morning.

The 50-mile route on Highway 550 climbs up to Durango Mountain Resort and then climbs over two 10,000 foot passes — Coal Bank and Molas.

Mickey, who won a final duel with a former teammate and a racing veteran from Utah, raised her hands in celebration when she rode across the finish line in downtown Silverton in the historic race that was first staged in 1972.

The Aspen/CU cyclist completed the course in 2 hours, 46 minutes, 16 seconds.

Anne Perry, a longtime pro racer from Draper, Utah, finished second.

Another racing veteran, Boulder’s Mindy Caruso, finished third in the 2013 race.

Mickey’s former teammate at the University of Colorado, Heather Fisher, came across in fourth place among the pro women with another recent former college racer, Sarah Sturm, in fifth. Sturm, from Durango’s Fort Lewis College, raced against Fisher and Mickey throughout their collegiate careers.

All won national honors in college cycling.

Mickey, in fact, finished third in the road race at the USA Cycling Collegiate Nationals, held earlier this month in Ogden, Utah. She finished behind only a pair of cyclists from national cycling powerhouse Marian University, of Indianapolis.

Marian’s Kaitlin Antonneau won the college road race and was the road omnium (individual overall) winner for the third consecutive year. She’s also raced internationally for the United States.

Her teammate, Coryn Rivera, was second while Mickey crossed in third for the Colorado Buffaloes.

Mickey also finished 16th in the criterium at the college nationals in Ogden.

The Aspen cyclists joins elite company as an Iron Horse winner. Mara Abbott, of Boulder, recently dominated as a five-time Iron Horse winner. She, too, has represented the United States in international competition.

Three years ago, Abbott was the first American to win the Giro Donne, one of the Grand Tours of women’s cycling.

Other top American cyclists who have put their stamp on the Iron Horse include Allison Powers, Carmen Small, Lauren Hall and Jeanne Longo, among others.

Kip Taylor, of Albuquerque, won the men’s Iron Horse road race this year. He finished in 2:18:39.