Aspen basketball players on all-state team

Dale Strode
The Aspen Times
Aspen, CO, Colorado

ASPEN – A pair of Aspen High School basketball players stepped onto the big stage this week.

Clayton Crawford and Trent Lichtenwalter, of the Skiers, were selected to The Denver Post all-state basketball team for Class 3A.

Crawford, a junior, was voted to the all-state second team by The Denver Post.

Lichtenwalter, also a junior, was named all-state honorable mention for 2012-13.

Crawford averaged 15 points per game for the Skiers, who finished 19-5 and reached the second round of the state playoffs.

Crawford, 6-4, also had a team-high 29 3-pointers for the Skiers this season. He and Lichtenwalter led the Skiers in rebounds. Crawford had 148; Lichtenwalter had 152.

Lichtenwalter, also 6-4, averaged 14 points per game. He canned 20 3-pointers for the Skiers.

Other players from the Class 3A Western Slope League were recognized by the sports staff of the Denver newspaper.

Trae Moxley and Dakotah Grett, both of Roaring Fork, were named all-state honorable mention. Moffat County’s Tyler Davis and Grand Valley’s Trent Reidle also were named to the honorable-mention squad.

The all-state first team in 3A was led by Player of the Year Kain Lucero, the point guard who directed Pagosa Springs to the 3A state championship.

Teammate Zach Griego, a 6-2 senior, also was named to the all-state first team, representing Pagosa Springs.

Lucero, a slender 5-8 senior, averaged nearly 19 points per game along with six assists for the state-champion Pirates (23-3).

They were joined on the all-state first team by Gritten Abbott, a 6-3 senior from Eaton; Josh Repine, a 6-4 senior from Kent Denver; and Colllin Sanger, a 6-6 senior from Sterling.

The all-state second team included a 6-2 freshman from Colorado Academy, Justin Bassey.

Peak to Peak’s Max Clark, a 6-5 senior, was on the team along with Brush’s Geoffrey Dunker (6-0 junior) and David Sommers, a 6-1 junior from Holy Family.

Randy Sorenson, of Pagosa Springs, was voted the Class 3A coach of the year.

In girls basketball in Class 3A, several Western Slope League players received honorable mention recognition. They included Moffat County senior Lisa Camilletti, Roaring Fork seniors Hattie and Megan Gianinetti, Grand Valley junior Haley Johnson and Olathe senior Haley Turley.

Lindsey Chavez, of Holy Family, was named the Class 3A player of the year.

Mike Burkett, of St. Mary’s, was voted the coach of the year.