All-conference honors for Aspen, Basalt |

All-conference honors for Aspen, Basalt

Dale Strode
The Aspen Times
Aspen, CO, Colorado
Jim Ryan Basalt senior Sean Ryan makes a pass against Grand Valley earlier this season. Ryan was voted all-conference by the league's coaches.

ASPEN – The voting is complete.

The basketball coaches in the Western Slope League this week announced their all-conference selections.

On the boys side, one Basalt Longhorn and two Aspen Skiers were voted to the all-league first team in balloting by the coaches. Coaches can nominate but are not allowed to vote for their own players.

On the girls side, one Basalt player was voted to the all-conference team, and one Aspen player was named to the honorable mention squad.

Basalt senior guard Sean Ryan was honored as a first-team selection this season. He helped the Longhorns qualify for the Class 3A Regionals, a momentous turnaround for a program that finished in the bottom of the league the previous year.

The Longhorns, who advanced to the semifinals of the Western Slope League District Tournament, lost at Brush in the first round of the state playoffs.

Aspen juniors Clayton Crawford and Trent Lichtenwalter also were voted to the All-Western Slope League Team.

They helped the Skiers finish behind regular-season champion Roaring Fork in the regular season.

The Aspen boys advanced to the Class 3A Regionals where they won their opener over La Junta. The Skiers lost to state runner-up Kent Denver in the second round of the playoffs to finish 19-5.

The boys all-conference team was led by seniors Dakota Grett and Trae Moxley and junior Tanner Nieslanik, of league champion Roaring Fork.

Trent Reidle and Sam Parker, two seniors from Grand Valley, also were named to the all-league team.

Moffat County sophomore Tyler Davis was voted to the squad along with junior Taft Cleverly and sophomore Joe Camilletti.

The first team featured Cedar-edge juniors Reid Gates, Olathe senior Tanner Vernon and Gunnison junior TJ Curry.

Three Aspen players were on the honorable mention list – seniors Daniel Schwartz and Josh Baker and sophomore Evan Patzoldt.

Basalt’s Javier Huerta (junior), Bertillo Garcia (senior) and Patrick Reynolds (senior) also made the honorable mention list.

Other honorable mentions are Roaring Fork’s Israel Leyva and Ben Carpenter, Moffat County’ Matt Hamilton, Grand Valley’s Tyler Scott, Gunnison’s Alex Schliesman and Caleb Wilson and Cedaredge’s Aaron Henrie and Andy Bowles.

Larry Williams, of Roaring Fork, was voted coach of the year.

Basalt senior Lindsey Corzine was voted to the all-conference girls team this season.

Olathe’s Haley Turley, a senior, was selected the conference player of the year.

Aspen senior Annabelle Wilcox received honorable mention recognition for the Skiers.

The girls all-conference team included Moffat County’s Kori Fenniman, Lise Camilletti and Kylee Ellgen, Olathe’s Turley, Amanda Kinterknecht and Ashlee Pope, Grand Valley’s Haley Johnson and Ashlynn Speakman, Roaring Fork’s Megan Gianinetti, Hattie Gianinetti and Maddie Nieslanik, Coal Ridge’s Paige Ryan and Cassie Blackard, Cedaredge’s Jordi Smith and Alyssa Isaman and Gunnison’s Jordan Wallin.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User