Kudos: July 29, 2018 | AspenTimes.com

Kudos: July 29, 2018

Thanks Aspen Valley Marathon help

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making the races this year a reality. The Lake Christine Fire has caused everyone heartache and stress. We are incredibly thankful that we were given the green light to have the races this year so soon after the fire threatened our community. The way that the runners, community and volunteers came together to make our event safe and successful was amazing and we will be forever grateful.

In particular, we would like to thank the following groups and people:

All first responders, Challenge Aspen, Aspen Strong, Aspen Youth Center, the Hope Center, the town of Basalt, the city of Aspen, Pitkin County Open Spaces and Trails, the Aspen Clinic, Aspen Square Hotel, Woody Creek Distillery, Aspen Brewing Co., Roaring Fork Engineering, Upper Valley Elite Traffic Control, the team at Fitzgerald Landscaping, Spice it Up by Susie Jimenez, Inkswell Screen Printing, Independence Run and Hike, the Ute Mountaineer, Outdoor Voices, Jen’s Bars, Aspen High School cross country team, Jaywalker Lodge, Glenwood Springs All Stars, Flying Dog Fitness, Aspen Elks Lodge, Bonfire Coffee, StorageMart, Custom Body Fitness, Natural Grocers by Vitamin Cottage, PRC, Roaring Fork Transportation Authority, GoBeMap, Higher Intent Life Coaching, the Element Basalt, May Selby, Erik Skarvan, Nick Tininenko, Naoma Gleason and Monique Taylor, Rebecca Driscoll, Joe Driscoll, Kevin O’Driscoll, Jimmy Cleaver, Jeff Mcmahan, Hans Schnieder, , Amity Preis, Sara Swiller, Kevin Hadfield, Ned Sullivan, Stacey Stuart, Jaime De Bold, Jeannene Gonzalez, Christine Falk, Cheri Gonzalez, Natasha Conklin, Dana Cart, Sherri McBee, Crystal Van Wagoner, Sam Barg, Charles Lucarelli, Melissa Treece, Jeff Fowler, Joan Crippen, Susan Barrofio, David Nosan, Annie Chaloupka, Spencer Ellsperman, Annie Burch, Colin Hipona, Nathaly Olmedo, Cathy Ruskan, Casey Adams, Ashley Clark, Ava Wasson, Ashley Mischke, Carlos Aragon, Bartley Malicoat, Liliana Duran, Cintia Miramontes, Rob Skillman, Robert Monroe, Susan Dillingham, Cecilia Fierro and Dasha Gi.

Sean Solon


Youth sports very grateful

Our valley youth baseball and softball league is coming to a close and I would like to take time out to thank the volunteer coaches who spend their summer evenings working with our young boys and girls on the baseball diamonds teaching them the game of baseball and softball. They also teach great life lessons in teamwork and sportsmanship. Thank you to Aaron Pearlman, Rob French, Blake Williams, Travis Bourgeois, David Portman, Brian Anzini, Robert Peters, Mike Rooding, Jeff Ferreira, Nate Shand, Ryan Kottyan, Silvano Rodriguez, James Lindt, Todd Hartley, Jeff Bowman, Matt Lamm and Todd Anderson. Thank you to all our umpires for your hard work with the games. Thank you to Crown Mountain for making sure we had wonderful fields to play on. Thank you to all the parents who helped with treats, made sure the kids were at the fields with all their gear and cheered the teams on. And finally, thank you to all the players for giving the team the best you could. You are all champions! Thanks for being on Basalt Recreation’s team!

Dorothy Howard

Basalt Recreation Department

A scout’s thanks

Thank you to Everyone who helped with my Eagle Scout project, the welcome to the Basalt High School sports complex sign and map that is mounted on the back of the Basalt High school football scoreboard. I couldn’t have done it without you. This project could not have been done without the support and outreach of the community as well as all the individuals and companies that helped me along the way.

I’d especially like to thank, Rainy Day Designs, Aspen Skiing Co., Myer & Co., Valley Lumber, Troop 242, Basalt High School, Roaring Fork School District Three Rivers District, Western Colorado Council, Aspen Rent-All Paul, Bruce, Craig, Matt, Keagan, Greg, Mark, Jack, Ligia, Dave, Lyn, Michael, Ron, Rick, Andrew, Dane, Noah, Wyatt, Carson, Miles, Peter and Sean.

Thank you all very much.

Thomas Wirth