Wonderful Winter Words | AspenTimes.com

Wonderful Winter Words

Aspen Times writer

Dear Editor:

On behalf of the Aspen Writers’ Foundation, I wish to extend my hearty and heartfelt appreciation to all of the authors, participants and contributors who made our 2004 Winter Words a smashing success. With such wide community support, our author series – now in its seventh year – continues to grow and blossom. Thank you!

This year we were able to present our most ambitious Winter Words yet, featuring six authors from diverse genres over a four-month run. Daniel Glick, Stephen Dunn, Eric Schlosser, Judith Miller, Stacy Schiff and David Guterson delighted audiences with their literary readings and talks. More than 900 readers and writers attended the season’s events.

Twenty-five local businesses rolled out the red carpet to host our authors, providing over $18,000 in donated goods and services. Numerous foundations, grantors and individual donors helped to underwrite the program and continue to ensure the ongoing sustainability of the Aspen Writers’ Foundation. The AWF’s dedicated board of trustees generously donates their time to steward our organization to continued robust health. And of course, none of it would be possible without our loyal flank of volunteers. Thank you!

For gifts large and small, I applaud: Robert Gould Foundation, Helen J. & Thomas N. Urban Charitable Foundation II, Colorado Council on the Arts, the city of Aspen, The Aspen Times, Hotel Lenado, Resort Quest, Boomerang, Chateau Blanc, Aspen Public Radio, Aspen Alps, Aspen Square, Aspen Skiing Co., Sandy’s Office Supply, Range Restaurant, Stefan Kaelin, Aspen Daily News, Cache Cache, Aspen Club & Spa, TUMI of Aspen, Robert Mondavi, Pine Creek Cookhouse, Boogie’s, Local Spirits, Ink! Coffee Co., Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, FIJI Water, Ashcroft Ski Touring, Jane and John Jellinek, Susan Horsey, Larry Ladin, Cindy Hirschfeld, Vera Wells, Ross Kribbs, Owen Edwards, Barbara Stanford, Jeremy Simon, Susan Benner, Joanne Teeple, Allison Johnson, Judith Cross, Rett Harper, Martha Durgy, Mick McQuilton, and anonymous. Thank you!

Lisa Consiglio

executive director

Aspen Writers’ Foundation