Wilderness workshop presents green awards | AspenTimes.com

Wilderness workshop presents green awards

The Aspen Wilderness Workshop presented its 2000 Environmental Awards to nine valley residents Wednesday.

The awards were presented at the workshop’s annual membership dinner at the Aspen Club Lodge, attended by about 100 people.

“We really wouldn’t be able to accomplish what we do without the help of these people,” said Beverly Compton, executive director of the workshop.

Five recipients were recognized for outstanding contributions to the success of the workshop’s conservation work and protecting the wild landscape.

Pitkin County Commissioner Dorothea Farris was recognized for representing the county in support of the preferred alternative in the revision of the White River National Forest management plan. Farris provided testimony at a U.S. Senate hearing called by Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell on the forest plan.

Hal Sundin of Glenwood Springs received his award for comments on the forest plan revision in his column in the Glenwood Post.

Chris Lane, former environmental affairs director for the Aspen Skiing Co., was recognized for his part in the Skico’s endorsement of the preferred alternative in the forest plan revision and of the Colorado BLM Wilderness Bill submitted by U.S. Rep. Diana DeGette.

Conservation biologist Dee Bellina of Basalt was recognized for her work on a study of the effects of trail use on wildlife. The study was supported by the workshop.

Todd Patrick, an Aspen wildlife photographer, was presented with an award for his generosity in allowing the workshop to use his work for wilderness protection projects.

Two workshop members received staff and board appreciation awards. Anne Ware received an award for her years of work in mailing the group’s monthly newsletter, and Warren Ohlrich got his award for work on the newsletter and management of the membership database.

Two “2000 Outstanding Environmental Coverage” awards were presented to valley journalists, both of them for coverage of the forest plan revision, the president’s roadless initiative and the Colorado BLM Wilderness Bill. Those awards went to Jeremy Heiman of The Aspen Times and Dennis Webb for his work with the Glenwood Post.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User