Whitsitt elected chairwoman of RFTA board of directors | AspenTimes.com

Whitsitt elected chairwoman of RFTA board of directors

Staff report
The Aspen Times
Aspen, CO, Colorado

CARBONDALE – The board of directors of the Roaring Fork Transportation Authority elected Basalt Mayor Jacque Whitsitt as chairwoman and Snowmass Village Mayor Bill Boineau as vice chairman Thursday.

RFTA elects its top two officers every year. The chair and vice chair can only hold their positions for two consecutive terms. Pitkin County Commissioner Michael Owsley was chairman for the past two years and couldn’t serve again.

Boineau nominated Whitsitt as chairwoman, and she was elected unanimously. Whitsitt nominated Boineau, and he also was endorsed unanimously.

Staff members can serve as secretary and treasurer/budget officer. Edna Adeh, an administrator with RFTA, was reinstated as secretary. Finance Director Michael Yang was retained as treasurer.

The RFTA board meets in Carbondale.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User