Three new directors elected to Crown Park board |

Three new directors elected to Crown Park board

Staff report

Crown Mountain Park and Recreation District elected three members of the board of directors Tuesday.

Heather Tattersall Lewin received the most votes with 108. There was a tight race among three candidates for the other two open seats.

Ted Bristol claimed one seat with 78 votes. Trevor LaLonde edged out Jerome Simecek 71 votes to 68.

All three winners will serve a three-year term. Bristol had been filling out a term after he was appointed to the board after a director’s departure.

Lewin has been in the Roaring Fork Valley since 2001 and in Basalt since 2013, according to candidate biographies on the Crown Mountain Park website. She is the science and policy director at the Basalt-based Roaring Fork Conservancy. She and her husband have two children and are frequent users of the park.

Bristol helped get the park started and previously served nine years on the board of directors. He said in his bio that he wants to work to acquire 9 acres of land adjoining the park that is being offered for sale by the U.S. Forest Service.

Bristol also outlined a plan to place solar panels on the roofs of the back maintenance buildings at the park. The solar garden would not be visible to any neighbors and wouldn’t take up an inch of parkland. The energy production would “totally eliminate” the electric bills for the park, he said.

LaLonde has lived adjacent to Crown Mountain Park for 11 years and is a frequent user of the facilities with his wife and two preschool-aged boys. He said he wants to maintain the positive momentum he has witnessed in the park. He also wants to work to retain the hard working staff in the tough labor market.

Two additional seats on the five-member board will be up for election in May 2023 for four-year terms.


See more