Three incumbents return to Aspen Valley Hospital board |

Three incumbents return to Aspen Valley Hospital board

Aspen Valley Hospital.
Anna Stonehouse/The Aspen Times file photo

The three incumbents on the Aspen Valley Hospital board of directors retained their seats Tuesday night on the five-member board in the special district election.

David Eisenstat, Chuck Frias and Lee Schumacher will remain on the board for another three-year term as they beat out the one challenger, Michael Buysse.

Frias received the most votes with 1,153, followed by Schumacher with 1,108 and Eisenstat with 991, according to results provided by AVH election official Andrea Shaffran. Buysse was fourth with 372 votes.

The three incumbents also remained on the board in the 2018 election when they were incumbents and did not face any challengers for their seats.

The trio will continue to serve with board president Dr. Melinda Nagle and member Dr. Greg Balko, neither of whom were up for election this year. They both won reelection in 2020 when facing one challenger.

The AVH board typically meets the second Monday of each month. The hospital’s total operating revenue is budgeted at $103.3 million for 2022, and there are nearly 450 full-time employees on the campus.

Voters abolished term limits for board members in 2000.

Editor’s note: This story has been updated to correct Michael Buysse’s vote total to 372 and terms are three years.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.



Yllanes appointed back onto Carbondale Board of Trustees

Luis Yllanes’ break from serving as a Carbondale Trustee was short-lived. The Carbondale Board of Trustees on Tuesday appointed Yllanes to serve out the remaining two years of a vacant board seat over two other applicants.

See more