Some bus fares will increase |

Some bus fares will increase

Aspen Times Staff Report

The Roaring Fork Transit Agency’s (RFTA) new seven-zone fare structure will take effect on Wednesday, Dec. 1.

First announced in early August, the seven-zone fare system will replace a five-zone system in order to make bus fares more equitable throughout the valley, according to RFTA.

A ride within any given zone will now cost a $1 cash fare, plus another $1 for each additional zone of travel. While fares for most routes will remain the same – a ride to Aspen from Glenwood Springs is still a $6 cash fare – fares for some routes will increase with the two additional zones.

Presently, RFTA operates under a five-zone system: Glenwood Springs, Carbondale, El Jebel, Basalt to Snowmass Village and Aspen. Under the new seven-zone system, the Basalt-to-Snowmass Village zone will be subdivided into three separate zones: Snowmass Village, Brush Creek Road to Gerbazdale, and Old Snowmass to Sagewood.

A ride to Snowmass Village from Aspen will remain at $3 cash fare because three zones are involved: Aspen, Snowmass Village, and briefly, the Brush Creek zone.

RFTA fares are reduced for those who purchase a punch pass.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.