Seldin won’t run again, two remain undecided on Basalt council |

Seldin won’t run again, two remain undecided on Basalt council

BASALT – At least one and possibly three incumbents on the Basalt Town Council won’t run for re-election in the April 6 election.

Councilman Chris Seldin said at Tuesday night’s meeting he won’t run again after his four-year term expires.

“There are three council seats that, I believe, are going to be open,” Seldin said while taking sideways glances at fellow board members Amy Capron and Gary Tennenbaum.

His comments came after Town Manager Bill Kane asked the board if they want to meet in a special meeting sometime soon to talk about goals for 2010.

Seldin’s point was that it didn’t make sense for a seven-person board with three potential “lame ducks” to discuss their goals since the potential for turnover was so high. The board ultimately decided to gather in the future for an abbreviated goal-setting session.

During a break in the meeting, Tennenbaum and Capron said they are undecided about their re-election plans. Tennenbaum brushed aside Seldin’s inference.

“The other board members truly don’t know what I want to do,” he said.

Seldin, Tennenbaum and Capron were swept into office in April 2006 as the Three Amigos on a platform that featured slow growth and the addition of affordable housing. Their actions helped slow Basalt’s growth before the recession completely snuffed it.

Early in their terms, the three council members were part of a block that passed a land-use master plan that established an urban growth boundary for the town. They won’t consider annexing land outside that boundary.

Affordable housing has been a tougher nut for the council to crack. They have approved guidelines and regulations that create the foundation for affordable housing, but few units have been added. That changed Tuesday night when the council granted final approval to the Stott’s Mill project.

Seldin, Tennenbaum and Capron are all eligible for another four-year stint on the council before term limits would affect them. Council members and the mayor are limited to two terms of four years each.

The four seats that aren’t up for election this year are held by Mayor Leroy Duroux and council members Pete McBride, Katie Schwoerer and Jacque Whitsitt.

Nomination petitions for candidates will be available starting Tuesday, Feb. 16. They must be submitted by Friday, March 5.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User