Primary election is Tuesday |

Primary election is Tuesday

Staff report

Registered voters in Pitkin County have until 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, June 28, to cast their ballots in the primary election.

Mail-in ballots were sent out last month to Pitkin County voters. However, the only way to vote Tuesday is by dropping off ballots in person at the Pitkin County Election Department’s temporary home, 501 E. Hyman Ave., Suite 106. There is also a drop-off for mail-in ballots at the Jewish Center at 435 W. Main St., where voters can also cast ballots in-person, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The open seat for District 3 of the Pitkin Board of County Commissioners is up for grabs in a nonpartisan contest, with the top-two vote getters advancing to the November elections. Hawk Greenway, Greg Poschman and Scott Writer are vying for the position, which Michael Owsley is vacating because of term limits.

Other contested primary elections include challenger Alex Beinstein against Rep. Scott Tipton for the GOP nomination for Congressional District 3; Darryl Glenn, Ryan L. Frazier, Robert Blaha, Jack Graham and Jon Keyser for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate; and incumbent Joyce Rankin and Anita M. Stapleton for the Congressional District 3 seat on the State Board of Education.

The top vote-getters will advance to the November general elections.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.