Pitkin County to honor nine locals | AspenTimes.com

Pitkin County to honor nine locals

Aspen Times staff reportAspen, CO Colorado

ASPEN – Nine Roaring Fork Valley residents are being honored for their volunteer work in Pitkin County. They were nominated by citizens to receive the Pitkin County Cares Volunteer Service Awards. Now in its 11th year, the goal of the county’s volunteer award program is to honor individuals and groups for their outstanding service, leadership and civic involvement. Pitkin County commissioners will honor the winners at a special ceremony during their regular, televised meeting Wednesday, Oct. 26, with a reception at 10:30 a.m. and formal presentation at noon in the Rio Grande meeting room behind the Pitkin County Courthouse. The meeting will be televised live on CGTV Channel 11, and the public is invited to attend. Call 920-5204 for more information.

Greg Mace Award: Nancy Oden – For serving as volunteer director of the Aspen Music Festival lemonade stand for more than 20 years, 43,000 hours, 200,000 cups of lemonade, 90,000 muffins and 130,000 cookies. The money raised from the stand has helped hundreds of Aspen Music Festival & School students with scholarships and fellowships. Children/Youth Award: Brooks Bryant – For helping Aspen Valley Ski and Snowboard Club student athletes juggle athletics and school work. Bryant is the student liaison for Aspen High School, helping athletes who are falling behind in school. Seniors Award: Bea Haggerty – For voluntarily cutting hair for the elderly residents of Whitcomb Terrace for more than 20 years. A professional beautician, Haggerty has made “hair cutting day” a social event with conversation, emotional support and individual attention for seniors living in senior housing.Health Award: Bobbi Seelenfreund – For her volunteer work coordinating craft activities for the cancer-stricken children of the Shining Stars Foundation and for her support and nurturing of families dealing with cancer through the Your Friends for Life program. Community Pride Award: Paul Rudnick – For his dedicated service to the Pitkin County Planning and Zoning Commission for the past eight years. A retired litigator, he has been helpful to the commission in dealing with sometimes “tricky” procedural issues.Education Award: Stacey Greene, Lynne Seeman and Gyles Thornely – For their tireless work for the past three years designing, raising funds and building the new Aspen Elementary School playground, in addition to countless hours of additional volunteering in the school. Good Samaritan Award: Leigh Guilfoyle – For going above and beyond the call of duty as a bus driver for RFTA when he helped an elderly passenger carrying groceries make a taxi connection home. He paid for the taxi rather than have her wait a long time at the bus stop for the next bus. Environment Award: Mary Kueneman – For her passion for pulling noxious weeds around the county. Known as the “weed warrior,” she has delighted the Weed Advisory Board with her enthusiasm and energy for ridding our area of noxious weeds.Rising Stars Award: Covington Pearson – For volunteering at the Pitkin County Senior Center doing everything from bussing tables to befriending some of the seniors there. This 13-year-old is hardworking, considerate and focused and is already making a difference in the world. Further details about these volunteers is available online at http://www.aspenpitkin.com.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User