Penalties increased for leaving a Colorado campfire unattended in grasslands or forests
Violators can be hit with a maximum fine of $750, or six months in jail or both
The Denver Post
The penalties for leaving a campfire unattended or not fully extinguishedin grasslands or a forest just became stiffer in Colorado under a new state law that went into effect Sunday.
Under House Bill 1051, passed during the 2018 legislative session, violators will be hit with a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $750, six months in jail or both.
That’s a steep increase from the $50 fine that came with leaving a campfire unattended or not fully extinguished before.
“We realized that the penalty for leaving a fire unattended was ridiculously low,” state Rep. Millie Hamner, D-Dillon, said on Monday.
Support Local Journalism
Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.
Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.
Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.
Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.
User Legend: Moderator Trusted User
: Imagine walking through downtown Aspen on streets that have been closed to traffic to make way for shopping and dining. City officials are considering such a plan based off of feedback from the public. Comments are being taken until noon on Monday, May 25.