Nichols retiring from bench; successor sought |

Nichols retiring from bench; successor sought

Staff report
Gail Nichols, left, is sworn in as a judge in the Ninth Judicial District by Judge Ely, right, at the Pitkin County Courthouse in 2008.
Aspen Times file photo |

The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet at the Garfield County Courthouse in Glenwood Springs on Aug. 31 to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the position of district judge for the 9th District, which encompasses Garfield, Pitkin and Rio Blanco counties.

The vacancy is created by the retirement of Judge Gail H. Nichols, effective Oct. 31.

To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, an applicant must be a qualified elector of the 9th Judicial District and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The current salary for this position is $159,320. The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term for two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of six years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chairman of the nominating commission, Justice William W. Hood III, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203; and the Office of the District Administrator, Lynn Reed, 109 Eighth St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at

The original, signed application and an identical copy stored as a PDF must be filed with the ex officio chairman no later than 4 p.m. Aug. 12. Late applications will not be considered. Anyone wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chairman, no later than 4 p.m. Aug. 5.

The members of the nominating commission for the 9th Judicial District are: Julie Goldstein and David Fiore of Basalt, Sharon Day of Meeker, Michael Sawyer of Glenwood Springs, Matthew Ferguson of Snowmass Village, Ronald Erickson of Aspen and Andrea Bryan of Carbondale.


See more