Mink, Nagle win seats on AVH board | AspenTimes.com

Mink, Nagle win seats on AVH board

John Colson
The Aspen Times
Aspen, CO Colorado

ASPEN ” As expected, Dr. Barry Mink, the only incumbent seeking reelection in the Aspen Valley Hospital District election May 6, won his job back by pulling in 944 votes, with the other seat going to Dr. Mindy Nagle, with 604 votes.

The other candidates in the race were Chuck Frias with 400 votes; Deborah Hutchinson, 320; Mark Rothman, 90; Albert Slap, 60; and David Missner, 49.

Mink won his second term with roughly the same level of support that he received in his first electoral victory, in 2004.

In what was called a “landslide victory” that year, doctors Greg Balko and Mink were in close competition. Balko had 911 votes and Mink had 832, according to 2004 news stories. Balko chose not to run for reelection this year.

Recent voter turnout has declined in recent years.

Although the hospital district did not release the total number of ballots cast this year, the numbers appear to be similar to the 2004 tally of 1,154 voters, about two-thirds of the 2002 turnout. Voters in 2002 were allowed to vote for three of the seven contenders in that contest.

In 2002, the hospital was in the midst of a financial meltdown from years of poor management. The board was searching for two new top administrators following the dismissal of Randy Middlebrook, chief executive officer, and his chief financial officer, Verna Bartlett.

There was no election in 2006 because the only candidates already held the seats ” John Sarpa, John Jellinek and Lee Schumacher.

Both Sarpa and Jellinek were first elected in 2002, and Schumacher was chosen to replace Elaine Gerson in 2005, when Gerson left the board to take the job as the hospital’s attorney.

The seats held by Sarpa, Jellinek and Schumacher will be up for election in 2010.