Meet a candidate |

Meet a candidate

Dear Editor:

Earlier this year, new legislative boundaries were adopted in Colorado. In that process, the Roaring Fork Valley was divided into three separate state House districts.

There are three great candidates running in these districts – Millie Hamner in Pitkin County (House District 61), Diane Mitsch Bush in Eagle County (House District 26) and JoAnn Baxter in Garfield County (House District 57).

Bush will be in Basalt to hold a meet-and-greet with valley residents from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. Friday at Heather’s Tapas Bar, 166 Midland Ave. in Basalt. I encourage everyone who lives in Eagle County to come out and meet Diane and learn about the new House district, which includes both Routt and Eagle counties.

Diane is a two-term Routt County commissioner who has extensive experience in water, land use, and oil and gas matters. Our valley will be lucky to have her, Millie and JoAnn representing us in Denver.

Jessica Garrow


Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User