Longtime volunteer firefighter, two newbies to join Aspen Fire board | AspenTimes.com

Longtime volunteer firefighter, two newbies to join Aspen Fire board

Top three vote getters in Tuesday’s election were Walbert, Lathrop, Taylor

One incumbent and two newcomers won three open seats on the Aspen Fire Protection District board of directors in Tuesday’s election.

David “Wabs” Walbert garnered 766 votes, Parker Lathrop came in second with 736 votes and Emily Taylor came in third with 537, according to unofficial election results.

Seven people were vying for three seats on the board, four of whom were challenging three incumbents.

Incumbents Denis Murray, Steve Wertheimer and Walbert were attempting to defend their seats against newcomers Charles Cunniffe, Ritchie Zah, Taylor and Lathrop.

The trio of winners will serve three-year terms on the board.

Another election is expected in 2023 for two seats that will be up.

The board oversees the fire department’s budget, which is largely supported by roughly $6 million annually in property taxes, as well as makes decisions about staffing and balancing a relatively new volunteer-paid firefighter model.

Over 8,200 ballots were mailed last month to registered voters in the district and those who own property in the district and are registered to vote in Colorado, according to Nikki Lapin, the department’s designated election official.


Aspen Fire Protection District board candidate vote tallies:

David “Wabs” Walbert 766

Parker Lathrop 736

Emily Taylor 537

Denis Murray 488

Charles Cunniffe 455

Ritchie Zah 427

Steve Wertheimer 203


See more