Local election results " as they happen | AspenTimes.com

Local election results " as they happen

Aspen Times Staff

9:45 p.m. Challenger Michael Owsley beat incumbent Shellie Roy, 4,204-3,868, in the District 3 Pitkin County Commissioners race.

Commissioner Jack Hatfield won handily against challenger Cheryl Koehne, 4,836-2,380 in District 4.

Commissioner Dorothea Farris easily won another term over challengerTom McBrayer, 5,123-2,439 in District 5.

11 p.m. The Roaring Fork Transportation Authority tax question won overwhelmingly in Pitkin County, 6,445-1,906, and convincingly in Eagle County, 1,775-1,157, including the portion of Basalt in Eagle County. Basalt voters in Pitkin County favored additional RFTA tax support, 236-119.

1 a.m. Wednesday: Garfield County results, including votes to boost tax support for RFTA in Glenwood Springs and Carbondale, are still unavailable.

Also unavailable are returns in unincorporated Garfield County, Silt and New Castle.

9:15 p.m. Aspenites repealed the zoning for the proposed Main Street visitor center. There were 2,290 votes for the repeal and 1,157 votes against .

9:45 p.m. Candidates John Wilkinson and Sara “Sally” Sparhawk have won two open seats on the Snowmass Village Town Council, with 546 and 536 votes respectively.

Incumbent Arnie Mordkin came in third in the balloting, with 478 votes, and Rick Griffin followed Mordkin with 424 votes. Scott Calliham was fifth in the field of five with 54 votes.

Running unopposed, mayoral candidate and sitting councilman Doug Mercatoris received 951votes. His now-open council seat will be filled by the council at an upcoming meeting.

9:45 p.m. Referendum 2B, to renew the land transfer tax, won with 669 yes votes and 483 no votes.

9:45 p.m. Referendum 2C, to allow the Town to collect and spend tax revenues beyond the limits in Colorado’s Taxpayer Bill of Rights, or TABOR amendment, won handily, with 791 votes for and 326 against.

11 p.m. In District One, Democrat Peter Runyon beat Republican Richard DeClark for a seat on the Eagle County Board of Commissioners, 9,204-7,706.

In District Two, Democrat Arn Menconi won over Republican A.J. Johnson and unaffiliated Albert “Buz” Reynolds. Menconi got 7,982 votes, Johnson 6,785 and Reynolds 2,606.

11 p.m. The Roaring Fork School District’s bid for additional operating funds succeeded in Eagle County, with 2,135 yes votes and a mere 808 no votes.

In Pitkin County, the measure had 764 yes votes and 395 no votes.

1 a.m. Wednesday: The measure appears headed for passage in Garfield County, where returns are not yet complete.

11 p.m. The Roaring Fork School District bid for $86 million in bonding authority won in Eagle County with 1,945 yes votes and 989 no votes.

In Pitkin County, the measure had 707 yes votes and 451 no votes.

1 a.m. Wednesday: The measure appears headed for passage in Garfield County, where returns are not yet complete.

9:45 p.m. Pitkin County voters strongly endorsed a tax increase for their public library, 5,084-2,099.

11 p.m. The Basalt library district won its proposed tax increase by more than a 2-1 margin, with 2,014 yes votes and 931 no votes.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User