Keepin’ it artsy |

Keepin’ it artsy

Dear Editor:The Art Department at Basalt High School has had another wonderful year. Many people have given time, money and resources to assist our students in learning, creating and the display of their creations in the art show. Our administrators, Jim Waddick and Tim Root, support our program each year. Mike Green and Forrest Grosh gave up their space for two weeks as we took over the gym. Many other teachers supported us with input and resources.The following organizations and people donated money, materials or time: Aspen Thrift Shop, CCAH, Roaring Fork Public Education Foundation, Glenwood Spring Art Guild, Western Refrigeration and Heating, Laurie and Andy Soliday, the town of Basalt, Doug Pratte, Matt Hays, Kim Glather, Annie Brooks, Brenda Maher and Mike Steuben.The art show judges gave their expertise and time: Cathleen McCourt, Matt Hays, Leroy Duroux, Carol Murphy, Alicia Herring, Lea Zugschwerdt, K. Cesark and Ben Fedishen.We would like to congratulate all of our winners. Maggie Summers won Best of Show and Megan Southward won People’s Choice. The following students all received ribbons: Erin Waddick, Sam Christensen, Hailey Guglielmo, Melissa Stewart, Amy Brumet, Kodie Russell, Allison Pendergrast, Jeremias Moreno, Hayden Hughes, Anna Maria Cruz, Shawn Mikulyuk, Sonia Carrasco, Sergio Reynoso, Mikey Penny, Hanna Bacheldor, Marissa Wall, Zach Schultz, Matt Cole, Christina Long, Shelby Holmes, Keegan Pfeiffer, Wylie Chenoweth, Andrew Galemore, Annie Schwener, Abby Appell, Morgan Frothingham, Emily Peetz, Luke Pratte, Courtney Corrick, Theresa Gerdin, Hector Niebla, Shea Thompson, Jeni Fitzgerald, Dusty Howens, Kevin Newland, Carmel Mulcahy, Savanna Gustafson, Heather Neimic, Jenn Barton, Omar Lopez, Lihuel Saurez, Katie Eason, Adrian Villela, Andy Delany, Corrine Gillenwater, Maggie Everett, Katheryne Fitzpatrick, Tabitha Salas, Zoe Herreid, Taylor Allmon, Cody Kosinski, Taylor Foreman, Alyssa Leslie, Amy Lund, Nick Johnson, Katy Mulcahy, Alex Norvell, Tucker Hinch, Liz Parker, Chaz Capobianco, Jahaziel Ramos, Jason Nye, Ramon Arle, Kenneth Reys, Daisy Perez, Wilfredo, Danny Kayustka, Tyler Stevens, Rosa Saucedo, Kodie Russel, Luke Dickman and Dominick Streher.Thank you! We had a fantastic year!Tish McFee and Sunny WilsonBasalt

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User