Judicial District taking applications

Staff report
The Aspen Times
Aspen, CO, Colorado

ASPEN – The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet at the Garfield County Courthouse on May 17 to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of judge for the district (Garfield, Pitkin and Rio Blanco counties). The new district court judgeship was created pursuant to House Bill 13-1035 and is effective July 1.

To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, an applicant must be a qualified elector of the 9th Judicial District and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The current annual salary for this position is $128,598. The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; after that, the incumbent district judge, if retained by the voters, has a term of six years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Gregory J. Hobbs, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203; and the office of the district administrator, Lynn Reed, 109 Eighth Street, Suite 104, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at

The members of the nominating commission for the 9th Judicial District are Julie Goldstein, Basalt; Sharon Day and Shirley (Anna) Smith, Meeker; Michael Sawyer, Glenwood Springs; Matthew Ferguson, Snowmass Village; and Katherine (Katie) Hays and Katherine Potter, Rifle.