It’s six (and one) for Basalt town election |

It’s six (and one) for Basalt town election

John Colson
The Aspen Times
Aspen, CO Colorado

BASALT ” Barring unforeseen circumstances, Basalt will have the same mayor it does now and three new council members after the April 1 election.

As of 5 p.m. Friday, the last day to submit nominating petitions to the Basalt Town Hall, there were six candidates for three open seats on the Town Council and one for mayor.

Incumbent Mayor Leroy Duroux, 58, who has served one four-year term as mayor, is seeking re-election unopposed.

Duroux was appointed to the Basalt Town Council in 1994, and then won four-year terms as a councilman in 1996 and 2000. He ran for mayor in 2004, when term limits forced him out of a council seat.

Running for three seats on the Town Council, which are being vacated by Laurie Dows, Mark Kittle and Glenn Rappaport, are two familiar faces and four newcomers.

Former mayor Rick Stevens and former councilwoman Jacque Whitsitt, both of whom were forced from their positions by term limits in 2004, are making bids to get back into elective politics.

Stevens, initially elected to a council seat, was appointed mayor to fill a vacancy and served in that capacity from 1994 until 2004. He has been on the town’s planning and zoning commission since he was appointed last year to a four-year term.

Whitsitt was a council member from 1996 until 2004. At one point, she was contemplating a bid for the mayor’s post but changed her mind when Duroux decided to seek re-election.

The newcomers to elective politics are Garret Brandt, Brian Dillard, Pete McBride and Katie Schwoerer.

Three people who had once declared intentions to run now are not. Valerie Britt-Kalberg took out a petition but informed Basalt Town Clerk Pam Schilling this week she will not seek election. Bill McEnteer withdrew Thursday and Randy Fricke on Friday.

The last day for candidates to formally withdraw from the race is 5 p.m. March 7 at Basalt Town Hall.

Town residents must be registered to vote by March 3 to cast a ballot in the April 1 election. They can register March 3 either at Basalt Town Hall, the Pitkin County Clerk and Recorder’s Office or the Eagle County annex in El Jebel, depending on where they live within the town boundaries.

Information on the election and on the hours of operation of the various clerks’ offices can be found at 927-4701 for Basalt, 704-2700 for Eagle County and 920-5180 for Pitkin County.


See more