Hospital honors its finest workers |

Hospital honors its finest workers

Aspen Times Staff Report

Aspen Valley Hospital recently honored two of its top employees by naming the Employee of the Year and Nurse of the Year.

Cathleen Haggerty, an operating and recovery room nurse at AVH, was announced this week as Nurse of the Year, during a National Nurse’s Week ceremony. She has worked at the hospital for the past 12 years.

Several weeks ago, purchasing department worker Ian Meloy was named as the Employee of the Year. He has worked at AVH for the past two years.

The AVH nursing administration also honored three nurses who were winners in an essay contest, with the theme, “If I had it to do all over again, I’d still be a nurse today because …” The winners were Alie Harmon and Carol Scoville of the Patient Care Unit, and Holly Peacock from ICU.

Haggerty was chosen as Nurse of the Year after the nurses council at AVH narrowed down the nominations that were submitted by staff and patients. According to hospital spokeswoman Ginny Dyche, “Haggerty is known for exceptional nursing skills, a great sense of humor and a special lightheartedness we all love.”

She was out of town during the ceremony, but will receive flowers, a gift catalog and cash when she returns, said Dyche.

According to his supervisor, Pete Sebenaler, Meloy was chosen as the Employee of the Year because “he is always ready to volunteer his time, energy and skills. He is the first person to take an extra shift or tackle the latest project.”

He received an engraved mahogany and brass desk clock and a check for $500.

A number of employees were also recognized last month for a number of things, ranging from their years of service to excellence in their departments.

Other AVH employees receiving awards included: Judy Botinovch, Carol Hamilton, Mary Margaret O’Gara, Charlie Holloway, Janine Lake, Gary O’Neill, Connie Taddune, Ed Dubord, Mary Fran Powell, Don Gillow, Cathy Zimmer, Lucy Morgan, Troy Miller, Kim Taets, Patricia Pier, Eric Guthman, Beth Barnes, Barbara Graves, Sally Owen, Simon Casas, Alvaro Marquez, and Jennifer Sparkman-Larreynaga.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User