Governor tabs Garco commissioner |

Governor tabs Garco commissioner

The Associated Press
Aspen, CO Colorado

DENVER ” Gov. Bill Ritter nominated five people to serve on the newly expanded Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission on Thursday, including Garfield County Commissioner Tresi Houpt.

Other appointees include Michael Dowling of Denver, Richard Alward of Grand Junction, Joshua Epel of Greenwood Village, and Thomas Compton of Hesperus.

The appointments must still be confirmed by the state Senate when the Legislature reconvenes next year, but they will be able to serve on the commission until then, Ritter spokesman Evan Dreyer said. If approved, they will serve for four years.

This year, Ritter’s administration urged state lawmakers to expand the commission to nine members and also decrease the number of members who must have a background in the industry to three.

The other commission members are Kimberlee Gerhardt of Durango, Harris Sherman, executive director of the state Department of Natural Resources and Jim Martin, director of the state public health and environment department.

The final vacancy on the commission is expected to be filled within two weeks. The commission is scheduled to meet next on July 23 and 24.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.