Expired registration? Act now
Aspen, CO Colorado
ASPEN ” Now’s the time to take care of the expired registration for vehicles registered in Colorado. The penalty for late registration jumps dramatically in June.
A new state law that goes into effect July 1 raises vehicle registration rates to help pay for road and bridge repairs in Colorado. But on June 1, the penalties for late registration go up, noted Janice Vos Caudill, Pitkin County clerk and recorder.
Currently, owners have a 30-day grace period to re-register a vehicle when the registration expires; after that, they face a $10 late fee. Starting June 1, the late fee jumps to $25 a month ” up to a maximum of $100.
Legislation passed this spring in the Colorado Legislature and signed by Gov. Bill Ritter increases registration fees over three years. For the owners of passenger cars and sport utility vehicles, it will ultimately mean an extra $41 per year.
In Pitkin County, vehicle and trailer registration takes place in the Pitkin County Clerk and Recorder’s Office in Aspen.