End of school years brings awards to students, teachers | AspenTimes.com

End of school years brings awards to students, teachers

John Colson
The Aspen High School Class of 2006, dressed in cooking attire, files into the District Theatre on Tuesday for the Recipe for Success-themed senior awards ceremony. (Mark Fox/The Aspen Times)

The Aspen School District honored its teachers, support staff and students Tuesday during assemblies from early morning to late afternoon.At the afternoon senior awards ceremony, with a theme of Recipe for Success, the Class of ’06 showed up dressed in varying styles of cooks’ outfits, many with chef hats on their heads.Also in keeping with the theme was the senior class opening processional song, “Food, Glorious Food” from the play “Oliver.”

The event was supplemented with other musical offerings, beginning with a rendition of R. Kelly’s “The World’s Greatest” sung by Blanca Salas to the accompaniment of keyboards by Paul Dankers.And after the issuance of student awards too numerous to list, Reuben Sadowsky (who received several awards himself) gave a moving performance of an old mountain tune, John M. Dye’s “Wayfaring Stranger,” accompanied by Randy Youngling on guitar, which brought many in the District Theatre to their feet.A total of 14 Aspen School District teachers and support staff were the recipients of the sixth annual Distinguished Teacher Awards (additional teachers were to be awarded at the Aspen Community School assembly later.)

The Distinguished Teacher Awards recognize and reward teachers whose dedication and passion for teaching inspires their students and their peers, and provide a cash grant of $10,000 for each recipient. Aspen businessman Dick Butera created and funded the awards, and a committee of teachers, students, parents and school administrators distributes the awards.The 14 teachers and support staff from Aspen Elementary, Aspen Middle and Aspen High schools who received this year’s awards are:- Rixt Clifford, Sarah Jonker, Sarah Peshek and Julie Wille at Aspen Elementary School

– Emily Kolbe, Georgina Levey, Molly Kridel, Tim Somerville and Donna McFlynn at Aspen Middle School- Rossina Allen, Matt Wells, Nancy Fehrmann, Jamie Hozack and Jose Zavala at Aspen High School.Aspen High School’s graduation will be at the Aspen Music Festival Tent at 2 p.m. today.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User