Colorado sites designated as national landmarks |

Colorado sites designated as national landmarks

The Associated Press
Aspen, CO Colorado

DENVER – Three Colorado sites are among the 27 spots nationwide that have been newly designated as national historic or natural landmarks.

Interior Secretary Ken Salazar said Wednesday that Denver Civic Center has been designated a national historic landmark.

Also receiving that designation is the Denver and Rio Grande Railroad’s San Juan Extension in Rio Arriba County in New Mexico and Conejos and Archuleta counties in Colorado. The narrow-gauge line is now owned by the two states and operated as the Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railroad.

Salazar says Big Spring Creek in Saguache County has been designated a national natural landmark.

There are roughly 2,500 designated national historic landmarks and 600 national natural landmark sites nationwide.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User