Colorado late car registration fees pull in $6.4M
Aspen, CO Colorado
DENVER – Coloradans registering their vehicles in June and July have paid $6.4 million in higher late fees that took effect June 1.
The penalties, which ranges from $25 to $100 per vehicle, are part of a bill that was passed to increase registration fees for three straight years to raise $250 million for bridge and road repair.
The average Coloradan will pay an extra $32 for registration the first year.
The state Department of Revenue says that between late fees and registration increases, the state in June and July collected $17.8 million.
The state keeps $5.2 million of the late-fee revenue. Counties get the first $10 of every late fee.
Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.