Clerk sets June primary ballot |

Clerk sets June primary ballot

The primary ballot for Pitkin County was officially set late last week, though it will feature only one locally contested case, Clerk and Recorder Janice Vos Caudill said Monday.

Three candidates have filed to run for the District 3 seat on the Pitkin County Board of Commissioners currently held by Commissioner Michael Owsley, who is term-limited after serving three four-year terms. The top two vote-getters in the nonpartisan race between Hawk Greenway, Greg Poschman and Scott Writer will appear on the November general election ballot.

Pitkin County commissioners are elected on an at-large basis, meaning every resident of the county can vote for the District 3 representative. Because the race is nonpartisan, it is the only primary race that voters unaffiliated with either of the two major political parties will be able to vote for, Vos Caudill said.

The only other competitive local race will be for 9th Judicial District attorney, though that competition won’t surface until the November election. At that time, current DA Sherry Caloia will face Republican Jefferson Cheney and Independent Chip McCrory, a Carbondale lawyer who worked as a prosecutor in the district in the 1980s and ’90s. McCrory confirmed Monday he will run, though independent candidates don’t appear on the primary ballot.

The Democratic primary ballot contains no contested federal or state races. The Republican ballot, however, will offer five candidates who want to run against Democratic U.S. Sen. Michael Bennet in November, and a primary challenger, Alex Beinstein of Carbondale, for Republican U.S. Rep. Scott Tipton. Two Republican candidates also are running for the District 3 state Board of Education seat.

A sample primary ballot will be posted on the Pitkin County Clerk and Recorder’s website after a test of voting equipment Thursday, Vos Caudill said. The office will mail out primary ballots to all active registered voters June 6.

Early voting begins June 20 and runs through June 27 at the Aspen Jewish Community Center, 435 W. Main St., from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Early voters can vote from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. June 25.

Primary election day is June 28, when voting will take place at the Aspen Jewish Community Center from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.


See more

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User