City releases committee recommendations for old Aspen Art Museum Space |

City releases committee recommendations for old Aspen Art Museum Space

Staff report

The city has released the names it is recommending for the resident committee that will help the Aspen City Council narrow the list of potential suitors for the riverside space being vacated by the Aspen Art Museum.

The city staff picked Peter Louras, Kathryn Koch, Catherine Lutz and Robin Hamill from a list of 26 people who had interest in the committee. At today’s work session, the City Council is expected to decide the final selections, who will be joined by three recommended city employees on the committee, including Assistant City Manager Barry Crook, Community Development Director Chris Bendon and Parks Director Jeff Woods.

Louras is a longtime Aspen volunteer. Lutz is a local journalist. Koch served as Aspen city clerk for 40-plus years before retiring this spring. Hamill is the president of the Aspen Education Foundation’s board of directors.

Also interested in joining the committee are Georgina Levey, Stan Clauson, Nina Zale, Lara Whitley, Rachel Goodman, William Carpenter, Lee Mulcahy, Marie Kelly, Shae Singer, Oliver Sharpe, Stacey Gardener, Soraya Hanak, Lucas Franze, Barbara Conviser, Charles Curtis, Jim DeFrancia, Michael Regan, Torre, Karen Wenzel, Anita Rayburn, Pam Moore and Roger Moyer.

Those applying for the space — which has been dubbed the Old Power House — will submit general information through a request for qualifications, including any request for city subsidies involved in their plans, their vision for the space and their willingness to share the building.

The resident committee will narrow the field to five or fewer applicants, with the council reserving the right to review any discarded parties during the final decision.