Breaking news: Clapper, Davis, Murray win Aspen fire board seats |

Breaking news: Clapper, Davis, Murray win Aspen fire board seats

Andre Salvail The Aspen Times

Stoney Davis and Tom Clapper were re-elected to the Aspen Fire Protection District board of directors on Tuesday. They will join newcomer Denis Murray, who ran third among the 10 men vying for three open seats on the board.

Voters within the Aspen district were allowed to choose three candidates, although some voted for only one or two candidates in the field. In all, 3,087 votes were cast in the mail-in ballot election, according a notice posted on the district’s door Wednesday morning.

An estimated 1,200 ballots were cast in the election. Some ballots were dropped off at the fire station instead of being mailed, district administrator Nikki Lapin said.

Davis received 637, or 20.6 percent of the votes cast. Clapper garnered 437, or 14.2 percent of the votes. Murray pulled 386 votes, or 12.5 percent.

The fourth-place finisher was Stefan Reveal, with 326 votes.

Lapin said the vote-counting process started Tuesday afternoon, though polls didn’t officially close until 7 p.m. Lapin said the tally wasn’t completed until about 12:15 a.m. Wednesday.

Three local residents — Debbie Overeynder, Linda Manning and Lynn Link — served as election judges, verifying ballots and counting votes on Tuesday evening.

“They’re trying to be meticulous and making sure that everything is done right,” Lapin said at 10 p.m. Tuesday as reporters and candidates were seeking information.

The board consists of five members who serve four-year terms. Davis, Clapper and Murray will join Jack Simmons and Karl Adam, who were elected in 2012. Elections are held every two years.

Other candidates in the race were: Chuck Fillion, George Kremer, David Lyons, Mike Haman, Steven Seyffert and Wendle Whiting.

A few remaining ballots cast by overseas voters will be accepted in the coming days, Lapin said. They are not expected to affect the unofficial result.

The Aspen fire district covers 87 square miles and includes Aspen, Woody Creek, Aspen Village, Brush Creek, Gerbazdale and other areas of the upper Roaring Fork Valley.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User