Basalt voters receive special note on Town Council election |

Basalt voters receive special note on Town Council election

BASALT – Basalt’s April 6 election for three Town Council seats has a bit of a quirk that Town Clerk Pam Schilling is alerting voters about.

Any voter who requested a permanent mail-in ballot from their county clerk over the last few years must use that ballot or take an extra step to cast a vote on Election Day, Schilling said. The rules are set by state law.

The ballots were sent Friday to voters on the mail-in list and they should be delivered to residences on Saturday or Monday. “If you receive a ballot by mail, please vote that ballot,” Schilling said. Completed ballots can be mailed back to Town Hall for 44 cents or they can be hand-delivered to Town Hall and dropped into the ballot box.

Regardless of how they are sent back to Town Hall, Schilling must receive completed ballots by 7 p.m. on Tuesday, April 6. (Town Hall will be closed on Friday, March 26, for a furlough day.)

Voters who receive a mail-in ballot but lose it or procrastinate cannot vote at the regular polls at City Hall on election day. Instead, they must go to the poll and request a replacement ballot.

Voters who don’t receive a mail-in ballot must cast their vote at the regular polling place at Town Hall. The polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The town sent a postcard this week to households with at least one voter, notifying them of the various ways to make their vote count.

“I guess we’re trying to be the 7-Eleven of votes -more convenience for everyone,” Schilling said.

Her records indicate 672 Basalt residents are on the permanent mail-in ballot lists of Pitkin and Eagle counties. Basalt is divided between the counties. There are 2,303 registered voters in the town.

Six candidates are running for the three open council seats. All three incumbents are stepping down after one term. The candidates are Anne Freedman, Mary Holley, Patrick Maley, Jim Paussa, Glenn Rappaport and Karin Teague.

The council members surrendering their seats are Amy Capron, Chris Seldin and Gary Tennenbaum.

Schilling is suggesting to voters that they wait until after a candidates’ forum on March 25 before casting their ballot. The forum will be from 6-8 p.m., at the new Basalt library. It is being sponsored by the Basalt Chamber of Commerce, Aspen Earthmoving and GrassRoots TV. Aspen Earthmoving partner and president Rick Stevens will host the forum.

Candidates will make opening statements, then answer three questions selected by a chamber panel. The final 40 minutes will be dedicated to audience questions.

The forum will be broadcast numerous times on GrassRoots Community TV, cable channel 12, from March 26 through Election Day, April 6.

The Aspen Times will run profiles of the candidates and four questions and answers Monday-Friday, March 29-April 2.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User