AVH names Nurse of the Year | AspenTimes.com

AVH names Nurse of the Year


Paula Hebbard was named nurse of the year during Aspen Valley Hospital’s celebration of National Nurses Day last week.

Hebbard has worked at the hospital since 1989 in a variety of roles but has spent most of her career at Aspen Valley Hospital at the bedside in the emergency department.

Elaine Gerson, registered nurse and chief clinical officer, announced the award and read from numerous nominations citing Hebbard for her nursing skills.

“She practices nursing with a confidence and expertise that are unsurpassed. Each and every day she’s worked in health care, her presence has been a blessing to her patients, coworkers and Aspen Valley Hospital,” Gerson read.

According to Gerson, 23 nurses were nominated for nurse of the year, but Hebbard won because she exemplifies everything Florence Nightingale — the founder of the first educational- training program for nurses — envisioned.

“Nightingale had a profound influence on the profession of nursing, and Paula has had a profound influence on her patients here at AVH. She, too, has been a mentor to many nurses,” Gerson explained.

Other nominees were Emily Albers, Siobhan Conway, Amanda Durham, Cheryl Heffernan, Pete Hershberger, Lisa Kantor, Jill Kennedy, Marcella Knable, Ray Knable, Cynda Larson, Terry Larson, Wendy Lyall, Maxine McCowan, Liz Mercatoris, Heather Milne, Trudi Olson, Margie Slater, Maureen Wagers, Miles Wagner, P.J. Wallace, Amy Jo Westerman and Elizabeth White.


Tweet All About It: X Games Aspen 2023

Each week, we pick out our favorite and not-so-favorite tweets (at least, those that are printable) about Aspen and display them (usually) on Sunday. 

See more