Aspen Leafs Peewee A, B win hockey playoff titles |

Aspen Leafs Peewee A, B win hockey playoff titles

The Aspen Leafs Peewee A team includes, from left, front row: Eli Hunt and Zach Small. Second row: Brooks Bond, Casey Chesner, Fisher Scott, George Morrison, Will Cairncross, Wilder Jacober and Nic Pevny. Third row: Dane Whitson and Tim Schlumberger. Top row: Porter Holmbeck, Connor Allen, Reece Hunt and head coach Eric Ringel.
Courtesy photo |

The Aspen Leafs Peewee A and Peewee B teams skated undefeated last weekend to claim the 2015-16 CDYHL championship in Breckenridge.

Both teams entered the double-elimination tournament as the No. 1 seed in their respective divisions.

After an undefeated league record (17-0-1), the Aspen Leafs Peewee A team cruised to the championship with wins over Summit 5-0, Glenwood 4-0, and Vail 5-1.

Goaltender Zach Small was impressive in net, making 58 saves on 59 shots.

The Peewee B team, also first place in the regular season with a 16-1-1 record, had a dominant team performance to back solid goaltending.

In three games, the Leafs outshot their opponents 70-46, and goaltender Brannon Bridger made 43 saves.

Aspen Leafs Peewee B team defeated West Elk 7-1, Vail 4-1 and Summit 5-1.

Six Aspen Leafs teams are participating in the CAHA State Tournament on March 5-7 in venues throughout Colorado: Squirt C, Squirt B, Peewee B, Peewee A, Bantam B and Bantam A.

The best teams in the state in each division will compete in a round-robin tournament, with the top four teams advancing to the finals March 12-13 in Denver for a winner-take-all championship weekend.

The Aspen Leafs Peewee A team includes Reece Hart, Brooks Bond, Casey Chesner, Fisher Scott, Wilder Jacober, Will Cairncross, Zach Small, Nic Pevny, Porter Holmbeck, Dane Whiston, Eli Hunt, Connor Allen, and Tim Schlumberger. The head coach is Eric Ringel. Rio Jacober is the assistant coach.

The Aspen Leafs Peewee B team includes Brannan Bridger, Carson Miller Jonas Kohout, Strider Michelson, John Gogolak, Joseph Clark, Thomas Mellenthin, Martin Scanlin, Carter Schmela, Braden Haisfield, Brady Conrardy, Quinn Bowden, Alex Potamkin and Ethan Uber.

Head coach is Jon Eichel. Scott Kenner is the assistant coach.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more