Aspen High ski teams on top after first day of state championships |

Aspen High ski teams on top after first day of state championships

Aspen senior Chelsea Moore competes Thursday in the girls 5k classic cross-country ski race at the state championships in Leadville.
Ryan Casey/

The Aspen High School boys and girls ski teams sit in first place after the first of two days at the state championships in Leadville.

Thursday at the Tennessee Pass Nordic Center, AHS senior Chelsea Moore, a future Dartmouth skier, won the girls 5-kilometer classic event with a time of 19 minutes, 23 seconds.

Colorado Rocky Mountain School’s Kate Oldham was second in 19:45 and Summit County’s Noelle Resignolo third in 20:26.

Aspen’s Lizzy Barsness was eighth and Jordan Miner 11th to help the Skier girls tie for first with Vail Mountain in the first Nordic race.

The AHS Nordic boys held off Summit County to win their 5K classic. Vail Mountain’s Cameron Wolfe won the race in 16:48, but Aspen’s Everett Olson was second in 16:56 and teammate Jacob Barsness third in 17:25.

Platte Canyon swept the boys and girls giant slaloms at Ski Cooper, with Luke Bailey and Alex Cregan each winning their respective races.

The AHS boys finished second in the GS, while the AHS girls finished first, led by a second-place finish from Devan McSwain and third-place finish from Levyn Thomas.

Overall, the Aspen boys have 329 points at the midway point, while Battle Mountain is in second with 296 and defending state champion Vail Mountain is in third with 295.

The Aspen girls lead with 330 points, followed by Battle Mountain (280) and Summit County (267).

Both AHS teams are looking for its eighth state championship in skiing. The girls last won in 2016 and boys in 2014.

The state meet concludes Friday with the slalom and skate races. The first run of the boys slalom is set for 9:45 a.m., with girls to follow at 10:45. The second runs are scheduled for 12:45 p.m. and 1:45.

The boys pursuit skate race begins at 3 p.m., followed by the girls at 3:45.

An awards banquet is scheduled for 7 p.m. at Lake County High School.