Aspen Hall of Fame seeks nominations for 2016 class |

Aspen Hall of Fame seeks nominations for 2016 class

Staff report

The nomination process is now open for the 2016 inductions into the Aspen Hall of Fame. Nomination forms are available at and also are being mailed out this week. The deadline for nominations is Aug. 15.

Nominees must have made “significant and lasting impacts on the Aspen/Snowmass communities economically, physically, spiritually and/or intellectually, demonstrated inspirational leadership and have made major contributions in the cultural sporting and/or civic arenas.”

The 19-member Aspen Hall of Fame Board of Directors reviews each nomination before voting on the nominees in the fall. The board also considers previous nominations when making their selections.

Inductees are honored at the annual Aspen Hall of Fame banquet, scheduled for Jan. 16 at the Hotel Jerome. Invitations will be mailed in December. The 2015 inductees were Dick Butera, George Madsen and Joe and Judy Zanin.

The Aspen Hall of Fame was founded in 1987 during Aspen Skiing Co.’s 40th Anniversary of Skiing celebration week. The first banquet was in January 1987 when the inductees were Elizabeth and Walter Paepcke, Friedl Pfeifer, Andre Roch, Ted Ryan and Herbert Bayer.

Further information is available on the website or from Lorna Petersen at or 970-618-9319 or Jeanette Darnauer at or 970-379-5746.