Aspen Cycling Club 2016 highlights |

Aspen Cycling Club 2016 highlights

Staff report

The Aspen Cycling Club has completed its 29th season with 17 bicycle races throughout the Roaring Fork Valley and a 142-member roster. Races included 209 competitors ranging from ages 4 to 80. There were a total of 905 starters over the course of the season.

Winners of the top Open category include men’s champion Scott Leonard of Carbondale and women’s champion Anne Gonzales of Aspen.

Tour de France competitor and two-time USA Pro Challenge winner Tejay van Garderen won the Maroon Bells time trial, one of the club’s most popular races. His time was 25 minutes, 25 seconds beating the all-time record of 27.01 set by John Gaston in 2013. VanGarderen, along with his wife Jessica Phillips, are title sponsors of the club.

The club provides a scholarship fund to support young riders and youth teams from the Roaring Fork Valley with ambitions to compete at a higher level. This year, scholarships were awarded to Kevin Callahan, Henry Nadell, Levi Gavette, Ian Catto and the Aspen High School cycling team.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.