A light primary ballot for Pitkin County

Staff report
The Aspen Times
Aspen, CO, Colorado

ASPEN – Pitkin County voters will find only a few questions on the June 26 primary ballot, regardless of which party ballot they cast. Unaffiliated voters will find only the county commissioner race on their ballot.

All registered county voters will be able to vote for a candidate in the District 4 county commissioner race. Under the county’s home-rule charter, party affiliation plays no role in which commissioner candidates advance to the general election in November and all voters will see all four candidates listed on their ballot. They can vote for one candidate in the race, with the top two vote-getters advancing to the general election.

Among the candidates, Steve Child and John Wilkinson are running as Democrats, while Darryl Grob and John Young are running as unaffiliated candidates.

On the Democratic Party ballot, Sal Pace is the sole candidate for the District 3 congressional race. Millie Hamner is the only Democrat seeking election in Colorado House District 61, and Sherry A. Caloia is the candidate for district attorney in the 9th Judicial District.

Jessica Garrow, a city of Aspen planner, is the Democratic candidate for regent of the University of Colorado in District 3, while Democrat Stephen Ludwig is seeking an at-large regent seat.

The Republic ballot has Scott Tipton seeking election in the District 3 congressional race, Debra Irvin and David Justice running in the state District 61 race and incumbent Martin Beeson seeking re-election as district attorney.

For CU regent, Republicans Matt Arnold and Brian Davidson are running for the at-large seat and Glenn Gallegos is seeking the District 3 seat.

There are also separate ballots for the Libertarian and American Constitution parties. The Libertarians have Gaylon Kent and Gregory Gilman seeking the District 3 congressional seat. American Constitution candidate Robert Petrowsky is seeking the state House District 61 seat.

The nonpartisan ballot, for voters unaffiliated with any party, features only the county commissioner race. Voters affiliated with the Green Party and Americans Elect are also eligible to vote the nonpartisan ballot.

Sample ballots for the primary are available at


Summit for Life race returns for 18th annual ‘Kickoff to Winter’ at Aspen Mountain

After being postponed last weekend due to weather, the Chris Klug Foundation hosted its 18th Annual “Kickoff to Winter” for the 2023 Summit for Life on Saturday. Hundreds of registered participants hiked, skinned, or snowshoed their way up the 3,267 vertical feet to the top of Aspen Mountain in falling snow and 14 degree weather, all for the great cause of raising awareness of organ, eye, and tissue donation.

See more